2000 trek 6500zx rebuild

Bruck

Jul 24, 2011
Connecticut
[photo=medium]4695[/photo]Hey folks. I’m considering a rebuild of my 2000 Trek 6500ZX. Respectfully I am not looking for the following:

It’s too old
It’s too expensive
It’s not worth it.

This is more a labor of love and interest in learning than a shrewd financial transaction. I am totally new to disc brakes. I know that you need to have the posts, but that is about it. Can you tell me if my fork and most importantly frame are disc ready? I believe that those are the posts for the rotors. Of course I realize that I need/get to get new wheels, etc.

Thanks and excited.

Attachments

• 34CFA25A-F394-42CE-8338-ED943CF312CA.jpeg
    34CFA25A-F394-42CE-8338-ED943CF312CA.jpeg
    512.1 KB · Views: 21
  • DAE4BD98-19D0-4276-935B-0C9055D063B4.jpeg
    DAE4BD98-19D0-4276-935B-0C9055D063B4.jpeg
    432.7 KB · Views: 21
The fork has a bog-standard IS mount for disc brake calipers. Slightly dated design on MTBs, which today favors Post Mounts. But still entirely available. No problem there.
The rear is another thing. You'll need one of these:https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/143260207399 to go between.

I need to confess. I just decided to go with the Roscoe 8. Embarrassed as I was totally into it, but then realized the sacrifices and said the hell with it. Probably similar money and I’m turnkey.

Sure, I hear you. A labor of love, eh? Well, I'll bite. As for your Trek 6500ZX, you're right, the posts you're referring to are for the rotors, but that doesn't necessarily mean your frame is disc-ready. You see, disc brakes require specific mounting points and frame clearance that your old frame might not have. And even if it does, there's no guarantee that it can handle the added stress of disc brakes.