Vintage Team Fuji or... ??

Kaisa1127

May 14, 2014
Hi all I am a newbie... Marathoner turned mountain-biker, potentially turning into a road bike person with hopes of dabbling in triathlons at some point.

I have never owned a road bike... I have been mountain biking a few years. I am going to a local store tomorrow to check out this bike... which fits my budget of $500, give or take.

https://store.bicycleczar.com/48cm-Vintage-FUJI-Team-Fuji-14-Speed-Road-Bike-p/10130296.htm

Do you all think it is a good deal? I am female, 5'2" and about 115#.

I looked at some newer Fuji's that are comparable in price, and my blazing ignorance doesn't have the ability to understand why a bike almost as old as me, costs the same as one that was made a few years ago. Guessing the components, but I am not familiar enough with the semantics of cycling to understand.

Compare the link above to this one... http://sfbay.craigslist.org/sfc/bid/4459930602.html

Thanks in advance for any guidance!!

There are some GIVENs:

1. disclosure: I am partial to bikes with steel frames ...
  2. some people would not pay more than $50 for an(y) "old" steel bike ...

FWIW. While there ARE reasons not to choose a vintage bike which has a steel frame ...

But, between the two bikes, 'I' would definitely choose the FUJI Team 7 days a week, 24/7/365, until-the-cows-come-home, et cetera ...