Ebay item
View Full Version : Ebay item
I noticed this on ebay today...
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3628975489&category=7298
Item 'for sale' is: "URGENT WARNING - BIKE FRAUD - READ THIS"
Anyone have any idea how genuine it is?
Colin
Colin Blackburn <colin.blackburn@durham.ac.uk> writes:
>I noticed this on ebay today...
>
>http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3628975489&category=7298
>
>Item 'for sale' is: "URGENT WARNING - BIKE FRAUD - READ THIS"
>
>Anyone have any idea how genuine it is?
It's a genuine warning, there's a lot of it about at the moment. My other half spotted a really
cheap Foes on ebay a few weeks ago, 995 if you emailed him direct. He emailed him and he gave this
reply saying his doctor had told him he couldn't cycle anymore so he wanted a quick sale and to
send the cash by Western Union. Fortunately this rang a bell, so I googled and found lots of
instances of practically identical emails people had been sent regarding motorbikes and expensive
pushbikes. The warning given on that page you mention is generally useful, if you see anything
advertised on ebay that is:
a) A great bike
b) A great deal
c) Requires you to email them on an address that isn't the address that owns the
ebay account
d) Wants money by Western Union because they're out of the country
Then odds on it's a scam. They have good ratings because they steal peoples accounts - hence the
address mismatch (usually, but not always).
And when we contacted ebay about that Foes (we found the genuine original advertised in the US and
the guy had just copied all the pictures and text over) they pulled the ad, and it reappeared a few
hours later under another account, so we contacted them again, and again, and again. Persistent
beggars. He's probably listing another type of bike now.
So: I'd advise cash on delivery/collection as the only way to buy a decent bike on ebay these days.
I think ebay should do something to disable all accounts with crackable passwords, but I guess
that's their business.
Claire
--
Still prettiest by far.
Colin Blackburn wrote:
> Anyone have any idea how genuine it is?
I've certainly had plenty of Spam landing in my inbox claiming to be from eBay wanting me to confirm
my details. Re-routed to the Bit Bucket in the Sky, of course, but people clearly are trying that
particular one on.
Pete.
--
Peter Clinch University of Dundee Tel 44 1382 660111 ext. 33637 Medical Physics, Ninewells Hospital
Fax 44 1382 640177 Dundee DD1 9SY Scotland UK net p.j.clinch@dundee.ac.uk
http://www.dundee.ac.uk/~pjclinch/
Claire tried to scribble ...
> Colin Blackburn <colin.blackburn@durham.ac.uk> writes:
>> I noticed this on ebay today...
>>
>>
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3628975489&category=7298
>>
>> Item 'for sale' is: "URGENT WARNING - BIKE FRAUD - READ THIS"
>>
>> Anyone have any idea how genuine it is?
I reckon it's very genuine ..
> So: I'd advise cash on delivery/collection as the only way to buy a decent bike on ebay these
> days. I think ebay should do something to disable all accounts with crackable passwords, but I
> guess that's their business.
They're not 'crackable' as such. Within minutes of listing my car (see sig) I got an email asking
for my login name, address and password .. which I didn't send. The email purported to come from
ebay, but was actually similar to @ebay.passwords.co.uk, which obviously is _not_ ebay. The mail,
when viewed as HTML rather than plain text, had all the requisite ebay pics and gifs, and was a
_very_ good imitation of an ebay mail.
I reckon many, many people who are newcomers to ebay would easily be fooled .. ;)
However, I use Mailwasher, which caught this one as a blacklisted mail source and it would have been
deleted had I not noticed, been interested in it's content, and downloaded it. Further investigation
by myself, other 'friends' and ebay are on-going ... ;)
--
Digweed '79 Beamish RL 250, '85 Swift Corvette, '88 Ford Escort 1.6 Ghia, '95 Dyna-Tech CroMo Comp,
'97 Landrover Discovery 300 Tdi, '02 Schumacher CAT 3000, '03 Losi Kinwald Triple-X, '03 Associated
RC10 B4 .... ;) Escort for Auction http://tinyurl.com/osdj
On Fri, 03 Oct 2003 13:52:42 +0100, Peter Clinch
<p.j.clinch@dundee.ac.uk> wrote:
>Colin Blackburn wrote:
>
>> Anyone have any idea how genuine it is?
>
>I've certainly had plenty of Spam landing in my inbox claiming to be from eBay wanting me to
>confirm my details.
Same thing was confirmed to me by the guy that bought my bike last week. We did a face to face
exchange, and chatted about this very kind of scam, which I, hitherto, had been completely
ignorant of.
Don't give your details back to Ebay if they ask for them, because it's NOT Ebay who's doing
the asking.
We live and learn I guess.
Garryb
> Re-routed to the Bit Bucket in the Sky, of course, but people clearly are trying that
> particular one on.
>
>Pete.
>I noticed this on ebay today...
>
>http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3628975489&category=7298
>
>Item 'for sale' is: "URGENT WARNING - BIKE FRAUD - READ THIS"
>
>Anyone have any idea how genuine it is?
>
>Colin
Also I think it's rather strange that none of the example warnings come with photos. If I was buying
a new bike I'd want to know what it looked like. With things like bikes though I'd only do COD too.
On Fri, 03 Oct 2003 13:32:58 +0100, Colin Blackburn <colin.blackburn@durham.ac.uk> wrote:
>I noticed this on ebay today...
>
>http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3628975489&category=7298
>
>Item 'for sale' is: "URGENT WARNING - BIKE FRAUD - READ THIS"
>
>Anyone have any idea how genuine it is?
>
>Colin
Reckon it's genuine. I've had some excellent deals thru' Ebay on bike stuff, but would NEVER send
lots of money. I prefer to collect personally - a few hours driving is no great sweat! And NEVER
EVER deal outside Ebay! - unless you meet the seller in person.
Automatic Translations (Powered by

):
vBulletin, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by
vBSEO 3.3.0