| aus.bicycle archive This forum is a gateway to the aus.bicycle usenet newsgroup. Any posts you make in this forum will be propagated to usenet.
Please read our USENET FAQ before using this section! |
| | |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Display Modes |
|
#1
| |||
| |||
Hi, I have a strange request for any aus.bicycle listers that also use Ebay. Last week, an Ebay seller had listed a brand new Bianchi for auction or "buy it now" sale. I gather that someone did buy the bike, as the ad dissapeared within the next day or so (approx last Sunday I believe). From memory, the bike was listed as a brand new Bianchi Evo Corsa, 53cm alloy frame, Campy Centaur? components, no pedals, never been ridden according to the seller. The bike had a buy it now price half of its RRP.The seller did not have their location listed in the advertisement. I am hoping that someone still has the link to this sellers advertisement in their "My Ebay" feature, or that someone has this page and accompanying photo saved in their machines cache. If so, I would greatly appreciate if they could e-mail me at sashan(nospam)@alphalink.com.au (remove "nospam" to get my real address) and provide the page or link. Any assistance would be wonderful. Thanks, Sasha |
|
#2
| |||
| |||
Ooops, that should be remove (nospam) to get my real e-mail address. Sorry. Sasha On Fri, 23 Jan 2004 10:56:53 GMT, sashan(nospam)@alphalink.com.au (Sasha Nackovski) wrote: > >Hi, > >I have a strange request for any aus.bicycle listers that also use Ebay. Last week, an Ebay seller >had listed a brand new Bianchi for auction or "buy it now" sale. I gather that someone did buy the >bike, as the ad dissapeared within the next day or so (approx last Sunday I believe). From memory, >the bike was listed as a brand new Bianchi Evo Corsa, 53cm alloy frame, Campy Centaur? components, >no pedals, never been ridden according to the seller. The bike had a buy it now price half of its >RRP.The seller did not have their location listed in the advertisement. > >I am hoping that someone still has the link to this sellers advertisement in their "My Ebay" >feature, or that someone has this page and accompanying photo saved in their machines cache. If so, >I would greatly appreciate if they could e-mail me at sashan(nospam)@alphalink.com.au (remove >"nospam" to get my real address) and provide the page or link. Any assistance would be wonderful. > >Thanks, > >Sasha |
|
#3
| |||
| |||
Why don't you just click on your History button then on the link that starts with "cgi.ebay" ? It should be in that listing. Just put your cursor over each one till you see the auction you were looking at and click on it. Failing that I think there is a feature in Ebay that allows you to search auctions that have closed. I haven't done it myself but I remember someone saying once that it was possible. Regards, -- Tony 6828@FISHinameFISH.comFISH Remove the fish to reply --= This is a fish anti-spam device =-- `·.¸.·´¯`·...¸><((((º> "sashan (nospam) (Sasha Nackovski)" <@alphalink.com.au> wrote in message news:4010feca.2744817@news... > > > Ooops, that should be remove (nospam) to get my real e-mail address. > Sorry. > > Sasha > > On Fri, 23 Jan 2004 10:56:53 GMT, sashan(nospam)@alphalink.com.au > (Sasha Nackovski) wrote: > > > > >Hi, > > > >I have a strange request for any aus.bicycle listers that also use > >Ebay. Last week, an Ebay seller had listed a brand new Bianchi for > >auction or "buy it now" sale. I gather that someone did buy the bike, > >as the ad dissapeared within the next day or so (approx last > >Sunday I believe). From memory, the bike was listed as a brand new > >Bianchi Evo Corsa, 53cm alloy frame, Campy Centaur? components, no > >pedals, never been ridden according to the seller. The bike had a buy > >it now price half of its RRP.The seller did not have their location > >listed in the advertisement. > > > >I am hoping that someone still has the link to this sellers > >advertisement in their "My Ebay" feature, or that someone has this > >page and accompanying photo saved in their machines cache. If so, I > >would greatly appreciate if they could e-mail me at > >sashan(nospam)@alphalink.com.au (remove "nospam" to get my real > >address) and provide the page or link. Any assistance would be > >wonderful. > > > >Thanks, > > > >Sasha |
|
#4
| |||
| |||
On eBay if you search for Bianchi then click "Completed Items" on the left hand menu you get a strange list of handgun accessories and one bike .... http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI....&category=7298 |
|
#5
| |||
| |||
Hi, Thanks for the tip. I had already tried the search "Completed Items" feature and could not come up with the bike in question. I cannot quite recall if the seller actually had the word Bianchi in the listing title. I have tried searching various other possibilities, and still cannot come up with the bike I am looking for. It is very odd, and almsot as if the bike has been pulled completely off the Ebay database. Anyway, thanks again. Sasha On Sat, 24 Jan 2004 23:51:12 GMT, joemax <usenet-forum@cyclingforums.com> wrote: >On eBay if you search for Bianchi then click "Completed Items" on the left hand menu you get a >strange list of handgun accessories and one bike .... > >http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI....548140&catego- ry=7298http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI....em=3650548140- >&category=7298 > > > >-- |
|
#6
| ||||
| ||||
There has been a number of listings on ebay with very attractive bikes for sale recently, which like the one you refer to seem to disappear. I can't confirm this but there might be a scam behind this to generate interest in attractive bikes to collect email addresses from bidders and try and sell other stuff to them?? |
|
#7
| |||
| |||
Sellers can always pull out of an auction on eBay and then the item will disappear. They may pull it for many reasons and yes it could be a scam for email addresses. You may also have stumbled on an item available to Australia rather than just listed here. Clicking on the "matching items from other countries" link will give lots more Bianchi including one that says "never ridden" and "no pedals". Joe. |
|
#8
| |||
| |||
Hi Sasha, Sorry, but that auction is 99% likely to have been fraudulent. There have been many lately the same. I saw a 04 Trek 5900 Going for $2400, Titanium Litespeed for the same. Being naturally suspicious, I contacted ebay, and was informed that people have been hacking into legitimate accounts, and advertising items for 'absolute bargains', in the hope someone will send money overseas somewhere, usually through Western Union etc. The auctions I was talking about were removed a day later, and deleted. I would say that is what happened with the one you were talking about. I am a regular ebayer, and have bought and sold heaps of stuff. If in doubt check the seller for feedback. Another ploy is for a seller to buy heaps of small things to get their rating up, then advertise expensive items such as bikes or plasma tv's in the hope of selling them as they have positive feedback. Also look to see where the seller is located. I would be very wary of anyone overseas.... Hope this helps. Shane Quote:
|
|
#9
| ||||
| ||||
Quote:
So that's what's goin on at ebay.com.au. I read (in The Age) about that fraud happening overseas. Although suspicious, I did not realise that was happening on these occasions. But it was exactly what you described nice bikes, with a low starting price, from a seller with 100% +ve feedback. It’s really hard to contact Ebay directly about dodgy items, they must have only a handful of people working for them in Sydney, proberly all in accounts. Ebay is still a great place to get stuff, in particular items that does not break in the mail. But keep you transactions to an item value you can afford to loose. powinc |
|
#10
| |||
| |||
in accounts. > > Ebay is still a great place to get stuff, in particular items that does not break in the mail. But > keep you transactions to an item value you can afford to loose. > > powinc > > > Or bid on things that are close by that you can go and pick up and exchange for cash. |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
| |
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:04 AM.
vBET 3.2.2 gives automatic translations
Powered by: vBulletin Copyright © 2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0
Copyright © 2001 - 2009 cyclingforums.com
vBET 3.2.2 gives automatic translations
Powered by: vBulletin Copyright © 2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0
Copyright © 2001 - 2009 cyclingforums.com










Linear Mode


















