Go Back   Cycling Forums » Other Stuff » Other Groups » rec.bicycles.marketplace » rec.bicycles.marketplace archive
rec.bicycles.marketplace archive This forum is a gateway to the rec.bicycles.marketplace usenet newsgroup. Any posts you make in this forum will be propagated to usenet.
Please read our USENET FAQ before using this section!













Escrow question

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-23.-2004
Bill Stolte
 
Posts: n/a
Default Escrow question

Does anyone know about an escrow service called
"secure3rdpary.com"? it looks legitamate but i can't really
tell, i tried looking it up at the better business bureau
but they only deal with us and canadian companies,

Bill
  #2  
Old 06-23.-2004
Dave Thompson
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Escrow question

"Bill Stolte" <bill_stolte@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:75deab7e.0406230624.3ad87fd1@posting.google.com...
> Does anyone know about an escrow service called
> "secure3rdpary.com"? it looks legitamate but i can't
> really tell, i tried looking it up at the better business
> bureau but they only deal with us and canadian companies,
>
> Bill
I can't answer from direct experience, but I have seen this
website referred to in e-mails by known scammers from
outside the U.S., particularly ones that operate on Ebay.

If you are in the U.S. and are contemplating buying a
bicycle from overseas, be aware there are many scams
involving high-end, desireable bikes that are being "sold"
at prices that are half or less than the same model in the
U.S. Trek 5900, 5500, Madones and Cannondale Scalpels, for
instance, are being offered by these guys at $1500~$1800.
The supposed sellers represent themselves as being from the
U.K., France and Spain generally. They seem to have all
sizes in stock, and say they are willing to pay the freight
back to the U.S. It doesn't make any sense that a U.S. made
bike can be exported, duties paid and re-imported here
cheaper than even dealers can buy them.

I also notice that the Secure3rdparty.com site offers
payment terms of MoneyGram, Western Union or ire Transfer,
non of which offer any protection about who's getting the
money. The receiver is untraceable, and once your money is
sent, it's gone and not recoverable in the event of fraud.
Typically anytime payment is requested by Western Union or
MoneyGram, that is a HUGE RED FLAG!

Be very careful, do as much research as you can into the
seller, and follow your gut instinct. If the deal seems too
good to be true, most likely it is.
  #3  
Old 06-23.-2004
Alex Rodriguez
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Escrow question

In article
<75deab7e.0406230624.3ad87fd1@posting.google.com>,
bill_stolte@hotmail.com says...
>
>
>Does anyone know about an escrow service called
>"secure3rdpary.com"? it looks legitamate but i can't really
>tell, i tried looking it up at the better business bureau
>but they only deal with us and canadian companies,

I would be very careful using any escrow service not in the
same country as you are in. It could very well be a web site
set up by a scammer to look like an escrow service. They
take your money and run.
--------------
Alex
  #4  
Old 06-23.-2004
Dave Thompson
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Escrow question

"Alex Rodriguez" <adr5@columbia.edu> wrote in message
news:cbc7re$6$2@newsmaster.cc.columbia.edu...
> In article
> <75deab7e.0406230624.3ad87fd1@posting.google.com>,
> bill_stolte@hotmail.com says...
> >
> >
> >Does anyone know about an escrow service called
> >"secure3rdpary.com"? it looks legitamate but i can't
> >really tell, i tried looking it up at the better business
> >bureau but they only deal with us and canadian companies,
>
> I would be very careful using any escrow service not in
> the same country as you are in. It could very well be a
> web site set up by a scammer to look like an escrow
> service. They take your money and run.
> --------------
> Alex

I agree with you Alex, it does smell like a scammer-built
website. I don't know of a way to check the legitimacy of a
business based in the U.K. Maybe some of our English
brothers can help us out. The site is
http://www.secure3rdparty.com/contact.html
  #5  
Old 06-23.-2004
Bfd
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Escrow question

"Dave Thompson" <davetspokane1@comcast.net> wrote in message
newsJOdnYKbYuLoOETdRVn-tw@comcast.com...
>
> "Alex Rodriguez" <adr5@columbia.edu> wrote in message
> news:cbc7re$6$2@newsmaster.cc.columbia.edu...
> > In article
> > <75deab7e.0406230624.3ad87fd1@posting.google.com>,
> > bill_stolte@hotmail.com says...
> > >
> > >
> > >Does anyone know about an escrow service called
> > >"secure3rdpary.com"? it looks legitamate but i can't
> > >really tell, i tried looking it up at the better
> > >business bureau but they only deal with us and canadian
> > >companies,
> >
> > I would be very careful using any escrow service not in
> > the same country as you are in. It could very well be a
> > web site set up by a scammer to look like an escrow
> > service. They take your money and run.
> > --------------
> > Alex
>
> I agree with you Alex, it does smell like a scammer-built
> website. I don't know of a way to check the legitimacy of
> a business based in the U.K.
Maybe
> some of our English brothers can help us out. The site is
> http://www.secure3rdparty.com/contact.html
>
>
As the buyer, the one with the money, YOU should pick the
escrow, not the seller....
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:13 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin Copyright © 2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0
Copyright © 2001 - 2009 cyclingforums.com

Translations (powered by Google):
Bulgarian Croatian Czech Danish Dutch English Finnish French German Italian Japanese Korean Norwegian Polish Portuguese Spanish Swedish