![]() |
View
New Forum Topics Today's Forum Topics Set as homepage |
|
|||||||
Welcome to CyclingForums.com You are currently viewing our website as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You will have to register before you can post to this thread. By joining our free online community you will have access to post new topics, communicate privately with other cyclingforums.com members (PM), respond to polls, upload photos and access other special features like product reviews and classifieds. |
|
|
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
#1 |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 58
|
www.bikesdirect.com
I've been told about this site where they sell bikes factory direct. A 2008 Motobecane Immortal Spirit caught my eye, being only 2k and being full carbon, 15.9 lbs, dura-ace, FSA carbon cranks, etc (compared to bikes double the price at bike shops). I can tell a scam when I see one, but this has got me confused. Has anyone ever bought from this site? If so, please describe the process.
__________________
Pain is temporary. It may last a minute, or an hour, or a year, but eventually it will subside and something else will take it's place. If I quit, however, it lasts forever. -Lance Armstrong |
|
|
|
|
|
#2 | |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 218
|
Quote:
Search this forum for bikesdirect or motobecane. There is tons of info. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#3 | |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 18
|
Quote:
I ordered one from there last week (Motobecane Cafe Noir) $700 cafe road bike. Anyway, I did some research prior to doing it and heard lots of positive feedback, so i am waiting for mine to arrive and Ill let you know how it all goes. It makes sense that if they dont have to pay for dealer support/salesmen, you get a break in cost. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#4 | |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 218
|
Quote:
Let us know how it goes... I've had preliminary discussions with them regarding a bike I'm considering but their responses have been inconsistent. In all fairness, it was during the holidays so I can see how busy they must have been... |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#5 | |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 18
|
Quote:
I corresponded withthem several times and their answers were instant. Mayeb the holidays as you stated. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3
|
They have a very good reputation on one of the other forums and often do group buys also. Lots of people havehad good results with them. I read an article bout the owner.... he also has a chain of bikestores in Tx (about 20). So they have been around a bit. You will find the frames are good and the components are normally good stuff.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#7 | |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 18
|
Quote:
Hi, I just received a motobecane form Bikesdirect.com. I made out just fine, bike waas well packaged and very easy to assemble, no scratches or missing parts etc. Seems like good quality as well. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#8 | |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 218
|
Quote:
I've been looking at the Immortal Force and one of the Bottecchia carbon bikes for a while. I'm just having a hard time comparing them. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#9 | |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 58
|
Quote:
__________________
Pain is temporary. It may last a minute, or an hour, or a year, but eventually it will subside and something else will take it's place. If I quit, however, it lasts forever. -Lance Armstrong |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#10 | |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 218
|
Quote:
Actually, I've read a few posts were the buyers were very satisfied- there is not much feedback on these bikes yet; at least not that I could find. I would be interested in getting more details regarding your bad impressions/comments on the bike...."Made in China crap" does not mean much to me... is it like "made in taiwan" "made in japan" "made in italy" crap? The Bottecchia gallery photos look pretty good... the components look good, the wheels are not great but are comparable to other similarly priced or slightly higher priced bikes...But if there is something bad about the bikes, I'd like to know...thanks |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#11 | |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Boulder County, Colorado
Posts: 500
|
Quote:
The chances are that any bike you buy for less than $4000 will be made in China. And most of the bikes ridden in the Pro Tour. Right now there's more carbon fiber fabrication expertise in China than the US and Europe, and the only reason Trek Madones are still made in Wisconsin is because Madone buyers are willing to pay a premium for "Made in USA." |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#12 | |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,846
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#13 | |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 218
|
Quote:
There are a couple of positive posts in this thread... I guess you are addressing the bikesdirect service and not the Bottecchia bikes? |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#14 | |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,846
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#15 | |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 18
|
Quote:
I just received a motobecane cafe noir flatbar bike from bikesdirect and assembled it myself (extremely simple), I did however bring it to my LBS to be sure it was tuned properly. I was going to go with Specialized Sirrus and decided to try this one instead, it has a carbon fork, 105 group and some other good quality parts. I asked the LBS ( H.R Sawyer Scwhinn in Massachusetts, the owner still works there after 65 yrs running) what he thought about the quality of the bike and he said it all looks good and solid. I will admit I am new to road biking but the bike rides creamy smooth, shifts great and overall I am happy with it. I will say that bikesdirect quotes these list prices with all there bikes and it is a bit deceiving and I doubt if the bikes are ever sold at that price. But, I think if someone who knows what they are looking for could do pretty good through them. For this particuilar bike, I think I would have done equally as well going with the Sirrus. ( I have no connection whatsoever with bikesdirect, just found them online while surfing for bike dealers) |
|
|
|
|