Converting MTB to Hybrid or buy new?

Joseph93

Feb 11, 2014
Ive got an old Arrowhead GT which i use to Commute everyday,
currently not too far but as of in a couple of months ill be commuting a bit further
so think its either time to convert or buy new

I've been cycling for about 2 years but just on this old mountain bike given to me and have little experience with road or hybrid bikes
the bike is a bit run down so would need a couple of upgrades anyway but it does have an aluminium frame so is somewhat light

therefore im turning to some more experienced cyclists to ask is it worth trying to upgrade the MTB
New wheels, tyres, smaller pedals, new chain, may need some gear repairs
or would it be easier/better or cheaper to just buy a new or even a used hybrid?

It seems that once you start with a "gateway drug" bike (MTB, hybrid etc) you eventually end up checking the PSI figures on your road bike tires secretly at 5am whilst uploading your ride to Strava and praise that you dont spend money on hookers and blow but on cycling instead.

Hookers and blow have given so much peace of mind to the cycling addicts.
big-smile.png

A MTB for commute is kinda overkill and also a bit too slow. Unless you commute on a mountain trail or have parking problems and you need something -extra- cheap for theft issues, a bike of the road - cyclocross category is probably the way to go. Something like this:

Both with disk brakes for better wet weather braking and with rack fittings for a bit of touring too. (A dedicated touring bike could work too)

In cromoly steel (great for lots of mileage due to the fatigue strength of the material):

Or Aluminium (Cheaper, thicker tube walls for dents resistance, corrosion resistant)