Do you use two sets of numbers?

Discussion in 'Power Training' started by MarkM13, Jan 17, 2010.

1. MarkM13

MarkM13 New Member

Greetings.

I'm new to training with power. I got my PT about a month ago just as New England went into a deep freeze. As such, until yesterday I had only used it on my trainer. During my testing for FTP, CP and the CTS field test I was pretty disapointed with my numbers. I took it as a sign to get to work, and have been digging in. Yesterday however, was my first day riding with the PT outside. The difference in numbers was substantial.
    For example, indoors it is a huge effort to stay above 300w for a two min interval. Outside however, I was doing 10' climbs at 400+w. I've been doing a lot of reading here as to why there is a difference. After reading Alex's comprehensive blog on the subject I can't help but wonder if it be easier just to repeat the testing outdoors and have a second set of numbers. If you're stressing the same part of the aerobic system with two different sets of numbers, I can't see that it would matter. I figure I could just create another profile in "Power Agent" to reflect the different numbers.
    As I said I'm new to all of this; so I'm wondering if other folks use two sets of numbers to allow for large differences.

M

Tags:

2. gman0482

gman0482 New Member

I'm not sure that I'll be of much help, but I know that the output you get on the trainer, equals to a higher one outdoors. I haven't done any testing outside yet, as I'm also in New England and inside for now. The time you spend on the trainer is also ~20% greater than outside, so 2 hours indoors, is like 2.5 hours out.

I would definitely go by the numbers outside IMO.

3. rbarker76

rbarker76 New Member

You averaged over 400 watts for a ten min climb outdoors but can only average 300 watts for two min on the trainer?
    Again, we are talking about average power for the interval, right?