Giant vs trek vs diamondback hybrids

pateljay1996

Jul 20, 2017
Hey y'all. I need some thoughts on which hybrid to get. I'm new to biking and I'll mostly be using it for short rides/commutes (in NYC), nothing too intense. I'm looking for something comfortable and affordable. I don't know much about which brand or model is better for my purpose but I've been looking at these models:

Giant Escape, Giant Cypress, Trek FX, Diamondback Insight, and Diamondback Clarity.

These are around $330-400, which is what I am aiming for. Any suggestions from owners of these models or from people that know about them would be appreciated.

When in doubt & if all things are equal, you will almost ALWAYS get more bike for your money if you choose a GIANT over almost any other brand of equivalently spec'd bike.

A Hybrid with a rigid fork is better than one with a suspension fork -- both lighter and less expensive.

IF you feel a need to have a suspension fork THEN pony up for a 29er Hardtail with a suspension fork.

I agree with staying away from the suspension fork, they add a lot of weight, they don't work good, they cost money to put on a bike so they have to cheapen other aspects of the bike to make it fit the price point; good suspension bikes start at about $900.

I looked at the specs of all the bikes and I thought the Diamondback offered slightly better bike for the money, the Trek and Giants all came with Tourney derailleurs which is Shimano's lowest level component, but the Diamondbacks all had Altus which is the second from the bottom. So I would lean toward the Diamondbacks. In addition the Giant Cypress had a weird headset which I doubt you would be able to find an off the shelf headset to fit it should it ever need replacing.