Help! Shimano 105 chainset keeps coming loose

postedoverseas

May 1, 2007
Hi all,

This is my first post on here, I am just getting back into road cycling.

My wife purchased a shimano 105 bike for me recently and it was bought "as seen".

The same day I started riding it the left peddal shaft was loose and kept slipping forward when the shaft reached the 12 o clock position.

After taking it to my local store the tech there said that the coggs inside the chainset had been work down and he would have to order a new one. 2 or 3 days ago I picked it up and today I have noticed that the problem is back. I have been taking it very easy since the problem arose

Does anyone know of an under-lying problem that could be causing this? I am not keen on throwing money away on a 250 euro chainset if the problem is just going to keep re-appearing or if the problem is permanent.

I have tightened both sides of the chainset several times but the problem keeps coming back.

Help please

Thanks
John

If he fitted a new cassette (cogs) then a new chain should have ben fitted at the same time. A 105 chain is about $25 US. ;)

I don't know what you are tightening, get some locat mechanical advice. :confused:

Hard to say exactly but sounds like a worn chain to me. The chainrings may be worn but have to be really really worn for the chain to actually slip.

Maybe try a different shop and have a different mechanic take a look.

Sorry, my mistake, let me try and explain further.

It is not the chain and therefore I suppose it is not the chainset but the crank (I think that's what they call it) where the pedals are connected.
shimchar0400-f.jpg

Every time my left leg pushes forward on the pedal the pedal/stem/shaft moves forward approx. 5 mm.