How do you deal with peer-pressure?

sooray02

Mar 15, 2004
Here is my problem, peer-pressure.

I'm a student and I've been living here in the U.S. for last 5 years, since high school and most of my college life. Considering that I don’t have my family here, my friends became my family. They mean more than just friends; they are my family. However, I fell in love with cycling last year and this year I started racing seriously. Now I came to have problems with my friends that they don’t understand why I don’t drink like I used to and spend time with them and etc… But, I do try keep the relationship between my friends and I try my best to be around them: since they go out at midnight, at the earliest, it’s pretty tough.

None of my friends are cyclist and now people started to notice who I am in the city. I believe that this summer is the best chance to get better at sport and prove myself who I am, and what I can become. But I still don’t know how to deal with friends. I’d like to go out and have fun but not like they do. And when I do go out, I always end up going to bed at 2 or 3 A.M. and it just kills me next day.

What the hell am I supposed to do?

Sounds tough. I have had lots of friends who liked to party hard all the time. I joined them when I could (it wasn't cycling but just lack of desire that kept me out of the bars every night) and had a great time but when I wasn't able to they managed without me. Now a few years later everyone has jobs and has to get to bed early and the partying and drinkign are mostly a memory excpet on special occasions.

It is hard when you are young to think about how things will change the older you get but they will for you and for your friends.

I for one say stick with the cycling and if they are true friends they will understand taht yuo love it even if they don't. If they don't understand and dump you then they aren't the greatest of friends.