Kickstands for road bikes

elz1582

Aug 20, 2014
I'm a student entrepreneur and keen road cyclist looking to try and design a kickstand for a road bike. Internet research mainly focuses on the cons; weight, drag, lack of style etc. however I propose to design a stand which rests parallel to the rear wheel in order to divert air away from the rear wheel spokes, subsequently reducing drag. The stand aims to amplify the performance of a road bike whilst increasing its practicality in day to day use such as commuting to work. If anyone has any feedback or suggestions regarding this idea I'd be very thankful.

Kickstands are generally rejected by serious cyclists because they
  • encourage leaving the bike standing in random locations where it can be knocked over, run over, or otherwise damaged
  • tend to crush and otherwise weaken the chain and seat stays to which they're usually clamped
  • add bulk to the bike where they can get in the way of spinning feet
  • add weight to the bike in exchange for unreliable and dubious function

My suggestion is to find something else to invent.

The only kick stand that will prevent a road bike that typically weighs less than 10 kg from being blown over in even a moderate wind is a double legged one that sits under the bottom bracket. Like you see on motorcycles. Single legged stands attached to a chain stay can damage aluminum and especially carbon fiber stays. I've seen 30 pound cruiser bikes blown off their stands by 15 mph winds. To describe them, simply, they are next to useless and unreliable at supporting even light bikes in the wind. Most road cyclists lay their bike on the ground, off the pavement, with the drive side facing up, when they're off the bike for a short time. Or they lean it against a tree or a pole. Commuters will generally chain and lock their bike to an upright, too. You're trying to invent something that will have very little demand.

Originally Posted by elz1582