Lightheaded when resting but not when riding

BHL

Jul 11, 2016
I have been riding regularly for the past 9 years. Annually, I participate in a long climbing tour like the Iron Horse or the Copper Triangle (50+miles~6kft of climbing). I look at them as opportunities to get in shape. In the last few years I have had lightheaded issues, typically occurring at the end of long climbs. But as soon as I get back on the bike, it goes away. I have heard many explanations. My doctor thinks it's dehydration. The riders have mentioned blood pressure, altitude or even posture. I try to drink a bottle (22 oz.) an hour and have found a pretty good balance of gels and hammer perpetuem as nourshment. I recently had the same issue at the end of a climb at 8000ft. I live just shy of 6000 ft. so I doubt it's altitude. So, I am leaning towards the possibility that it could be blood pressure related.

I guess I am wondering if anybody has an explanation of why the Lightheadedness only comes on when I stop, and why it goes away when I start ridding again? Thanks for taking the time to read.

This is due to blood pooling in your lower extremeties without the aid of muscular contractions to aid in venous return to your heart and ultimately your brain.

Reactions: BHL
This is due to blood pooling in your lower extremeties without the aid of muscular contractions to aid in venous return to your heart and ultimately your brain.

Agree your explanation is the most likely, absent any other issues. I've read that this is the prime reason we see TdF riders doing a cool-down spin on trainer bikes immediately after a stage. Probably a great idea for all of us after a hard climbing ride....much better than just stopping with a high HR and standing around. If the OP could take his BP immediately after stopping, bet it would confirm the drop.