Mountain Bike - Microshift RD-M55 rear derailleur

titmouse

Dec 26, 2009
I'm building a hard tail mountain bike and I'm planning on using the M55 unit.

NA reviews have been spotty, however, the European, Australian, and South African reviews indicate that it is not a bad unit and is equivalent to the Shimano Deore LX series.

Does anyone have experience with this unit?

Much appreciated.

titmouse said:
I'm building a hard tail mountain bike and I'm planning on using the M55 unit.

Does anyone have experience with this unit?
I have no direct experience with this derailleur, but since no one else is volunteering, I'm giving you my two cents.

Nashbar customers are giving the base Microshift road derailleur a pretty enthusiastic thumbs up. These units are pretty faithful Shimano copies, so if I munged my DA 7800 unit I would not hesitate to give Microshift a try.

The 8-speed road dual control levers are another story, though. If you have the opportunity, run from them, fast.

Thanks for the reply - it seems more reviews are provided for the road bike components vs. the mountain bike.

How much will/(does) a MicroSHIFT M55 rear derailleur cost?

FWIW. I would guess the MicroSHIFT rear derailleurs should be as reliable as those made by other component manufacturers as long as you lube/grease it as necessary and don't abuse it (e.g., crash the bike & land on the rear derailleur).

So, I would also consider buying one of their road rear derailleurs as a replacement if I actually needed a new rear derailleur; and, depending on the circumstances, I might consider one of the MicroSHIFT MTB rear derailleurs, too.

Having said that, when in doubt, buy a Shimano rear derailleur (unless you are using non-compatible, SRAM stuff) ...