New to Cycling - Seat is KILLING ME!

anonyy

Aug 28, 2011
Hi everyone,

I am new to cycling only bought my bike middle of July, i hadn't ridden one for about 15 years even back then I rarely rode one.

My brother has been teaching me and now i ride my bike to work, not bad after only 5 lessons. Anyway. i have a GT Traffic 4.0 its a mens bike unfortunately the seat has been KILLING me! i cannot stand it anymore i am wondering if i should buy one of those women's wider seats, the most pain i get is the front gential parts. The seat itself if you look underneath it where the screw is, has been rubbing or diggin into the underside of the seat, is this a bad sign, i know i am carrying some excess weight i am about 13 stone.

I am constantly shuffling about on the seat, move forward, backwards, side to side its ridiculous trying to get comfortable. Sometimes i have found myself to be sitting on the right side of it, dont know why. Also get off the bike and walk just to give myself a break and get back on after 5 mins.

I am only biking for commuting to work and leisure purposes, not a serious biker, but comfort is definately the key.

Can anyone recommend any good seats/saddles for women?

I have one of those bike cables, as i have bolt on wheels, i want to get something stronger, i would like a D/U shackle, what is the best one.

Also looking for good strong lights, suitable bike clothing for the colder months coming up (i wont ride in winter just autumn, and wet conditions) as i have to get changed at work.

Any advise of where i should look etc.

Thanks in advanced any help appreciated

Reactions: steve
[COLOR= #ff3399]im getting back into biking myself and was wondering about the same thing..... i saw a article that said if you tilt the seat down forward some it may take some pressure off precious areas lol.... hope that helps... thanks[/COLOR]

[COLOR= #ff3399]Pink Flowerz[/COLOR]

Do a search of SierraSlim s posts, she had the same problem and figured it out..