Reaching the crusing speed

bryanquinn

Jan 19, 2004
Hi All,

I've become frustrated with my cycling. I want to reach a certain level of fitness but I'm not sure how to get there. Assuming I have a fairly strong base as I've been riding 160 to 180 miles a week now for a few months.

I want to ride with the fast guys at the local club. I'm assuming that means being able to maintain an average speed of 24 mph. I'd also like to be able to have the power and speed to stay with the sprints, at least hanging on to the back.

Can someone give me a schedule to ride figuring on peaking in a month?

Assuming I have 5 days to train, what workouts would be recommended for each day?

I really would appreciate any help. I have reached a slump and it's bugging me alot not knowing how to progress from here.

Thanks,

BQ

Hi Jace,

My speed has been increasing somewhat slowly at this point.

Last Saturday before I hit that clump of concrete in the road and ate the asphalt I was crusing at around 20 to 22 mph or somewhere there abouts. Still recovering from that one. This was on my usual Sat group ride of about 44mi. Around 19 mph for average. In the upper heart rate zone 85 to 90%.

Other then that I've been riding 25 to 30 mi on Sun. Usually 65 to 75 % max HR (no power meter).

30 mi on Mon around 16 to 17 mph avg same on Tues. 22 to 25 mi. on wed. short easy ride some times on Thurs. (sometimes I rest thurs and fri)

BQ

bryanquinn said:
Hi Jace,

My speed has been increasing somewhat slowly at this point.

Last Saturday before I hit that clump of concrete in the road and ate the asphalt I was crusing at around 20 to 22 mph or somewhere there abouts. Still recovering from that one. This was on my usual Sat group ride of about 44mi. Around 19 mph for average. In the upper heart rate zone 85 to 90%.

Other then that I've been riding 25 to 30 mi on Sun. Usually 65 to 75 % max HR (no power meter).