Running Shoe cyclist in need of pedal recommendation

jsull14

Nov 26, 2005
Hi,

I'm new to cycling but I have begun to accessorize quite a bit with pumps, tubes, a car rack and more. But one thing I need are pedals. I still wear my Asics while cycling.

I have been looking at the Shimano Ultegra PD-6610 SPD-SL Pedal
but to be honest I wouldn't know if this is a good pedal or not.

Any advice for someone looking for a good pedal? I'm willing to spend a decent amount $$ but I certainly don't need top of the line.

I'm not sure it matters, but I weigh about 165lbs with 9 shoe size.

Thanks for any recommendations!

These pedals are not suitable for running shoes.

I use platform pedals with Power Grips or strapless toe clips for short try-events.

gclark8 said:
These pedals are not suitable for running shoes.

I use platform pedals with Power Grips or strapless toe clips for short try-events.
I am actually going to get new shoes (cleats) and the whole package. Sorry for not clarifying

jsull14 said:
I am actually going to get new shoes (cleats) and the whole package. Sorry for not clarifying
The Ultegra pedals that you mention are perfectly fine and will work with any road cycling shoe. Pedals are really a matter of preference. I use Speedplays, but I have also had good luck with Look and Shimano (I have never tried Time, but I hear good things about them too). Cyling shoe sizes vary quite a bit from company to company and I would recommend trying on a few brands to see what you like. I use a Diadora size 44, and I'm a US 10 1/2. I also have a pair of Pearl Izumi 44's and they are noticeably bigger. I wouldn't order shoes on-line unless you know exactly what brand and size you need, or are prepared to send them back. I prefer a stiff sole and a rachet closure for a fast and snug shoe.

jsull14 said: