seat position/ seat height

cazorp

Jan 29, 2007
ok guys ... i have a 2005 felt f80 ... my question is when a bike is fir correctly how close should your feet be to the ground when they are off your pedals?? mine always dangle quite a bit and im wondering if i should lower my stem a bit or if that is how it should be

also how do you find out which seat position i.e. farthe back or farther up to put the seat in???

im new to cycling so im just looking for tricks of the trade for these types of things

thanks
Zach

gclark8 said:
Seat : pedals
as top tube : ground

Seat does not relate to the ground.
so you are saying that if i was to sit on the bar then my feet should touch the ground?? is that correct??

thanks for the replies
Zach

Not quite, but close.
When you stand on the ground (both feet) your genitals should clear the bar by 1". :D

gclark8 said:
Not quite, but close.
When you stand on the ground (both feet) your genitals should clear the bar by 1". :D
More if it's a compact frame.

this is the most critical part of bicycling fit, so it's not something that should just be eye-balled. The rule of thumb I tell people that at least gets them close is that you should set up your seatpost so that your leg is completely straight, but not over-extended when you foot is at the bottom of the pedal stroke, then drop it 1". This will put you a little low for road riding, so maybe just drop it 15 mm.

A more accurate way to figure it out is is that the distance from the center of your bottom bracket to the top of your saddle should be:

(.883*y)-3mm

y being the length of your inseam measured in stocking feet, while standing against a wall with a book stuck up under your junk aligned with the wall. measure from the top of the book to the floor.

try a google search for "bicycle saddle height" or "bicycle saddle position" and get edumocated

cazorp said: