Shaving legs

riceman

Sep 22, 2006
Can anyone tell me the why cyclists shave there legs? What are the real advantages of this. I know the disadvantages. Look forward to some positive feed back:cool:

riceman said:
Can anyone tell me the why cyclists shave there legs? What are the real advantages of this. I know the disadvantages. Look forward to some positive feed back:cool:
When you go down in a race or a training ride and suffer road rash it will be easier to treat without hair. I also appriciate having self message my legs with no hair while using massage oils. I have been shaving for so many years it seems natural to me. :D

Also, you might want to get rid of chest hair for a similar reason - if you have a bad crash and end up in the ER (broken bone(s) for example), and they "put you under", they put monitors on you that stick better than duck tape. Nuff' said?

easier to clean your legs, it`s uncomfortable having tights on hairy legs, electrodes for EMS get a better grip, less wind resistance, muscles are more defined.

riceman said:

Shaved legs have nothing to do with massage or easier treatment of road rash or even looking pretty, although those are among the reasons most frequently given.

Shaved legs are sort of a badge of membership, sort of like gang colors. They indicate that the rider has made a serious commitment to the sport (although there are posers with shaved legs too). Further, one who has not made that commitment (unshaved legs) will be given little respect in the peloton, and as any racer can tell you, the peloton is a very political, suspicious and ruthless animal. Those who don't get equal respect had better be damned strong otherwise they're going to get ridden into the gutter, cut out of the paceline and otherwise worked over. It's just the nature of the beast.

Shaved legs just let a rider fit in with the peloton without predjudice.