Sora rear derailler - -> 7 speed cassette???

richard_k

May 30, 2006
Hi, i recently bought a raleigh airlite road bike as a starter to get into the sport. right from the start i wasnt happy with the rear derailler, changes where sluggish and unreliable. i have fully adjusted it to run as best it can but i am at the point where i would like to maybe upgrade it. im a student and do not have alot of money to spend so i have been looking at the shimano sora range. The rear cassette is 7 speed the current derailer is a RD-TY18 (which seems to be non existant on the shimano website!) and the shifter is a bar mounted 7 speed SIS. Im wondering if its as simple as replacing the the rear derailler? i will probably upgrade to the sora STI shifters soon.
Any help will be greatly apprechiated!

Rich

I guess its this one: http://www.raleighbikes.com/cyclesproductdetails.aspx?ID=1

Your problem is more the shifters than the derailleur. Also have a look at the cassette, is it a Shimano and the model number? MF spin on or CS slide on with a lock nut?

If considering an upgrade to 7 speed STI shifters, doing this with a 7 speed hub may prove difficult as they are no longer listed in the Shimano Book. You may have to use 8 speed Sora STIs, front and rear derailleurs and adjust the rear to only shift the high 7 of the 8. This will cost more than the bike is worth. :eek:

richard_k said: