Street track bikes?

nhod

Jun 11, 2014
Hello,

I'm new to cycling. I come from a position of very little
knowledge about bikes. I'm thinking about buying a road bike.

I see a lot of photos online of these velodrome/track-ish
street bikes if you will. I can't tell if they're a toned down
velodrome bike thats been adapted for the street, or a
full on track racing bike that some people choose
to also ride on the street. I'm very drawn to these
bikes for their simplicity and overall aesthetic.

Are people that ride these kind of bikes around on the
street generally not people who do track racing?
I guess I'm asking someone to explain this street
track bike category to me.

Im trying to figure out if this is a type of bike id want to
buy to ride around casually on the road, or if i'd just
look silly.

Thanks,

-N

1 picture = 1000 words.
big-smile.png

(Gears on a bike are a good idea.)
big-smile.png

Volnix,

Thanks for your input. Thats definitely not me.

I'm not dead set on fixed geared, i just like
the way these bikes look. As a designer,
i'm probably looking at bikes through a
different lens. I just want something practical
enough and looks aesthetically pleasing.
Perhaps there is a bike thats somewhere
between a road bike and a track bike?
What about a hub gear?

Again, i don't know **** about about bikes.

-N

I see...

I like "Breitlings" logo, (a company that makes watches).

"A beautiful airplane is an airplane that flies well".

Basically, I am not saying of making a franken-bike that looks hideous just because it provides some better performance, but the "beauty" on a bike is probably just the quality of craftmanship and maybe the paint.

If you think that a fixed gear bike is "pretty" you can pick one up and put it in your living room. You dont have to actually use it.