Sudden faster but don't know why

jpwkeeper

Jul 25, 2004
Since September my average cycling speed has picked up measurably. Despite a more challenging route, speed records have fallen one after another after another. I'm not sure why, and I'd like to get some opinions on it.

Why? So that I can make sure to keep doing whatever it is I changed.

Here is my data from since I started riding a bit over 2 years ago:

(Notice that sudden up curve? That's just since September 26th).

What has not changed: Gear. Same cheap clothes, same 35lb hybrid bike. Tires changed, but probably too long ago to be a factor.

What has changed:

1. New Route
I have changed work locations slightly (by like 2 miles) and thus I'm riding a different route. The route features around 200 feet of additional elevation gained, however, and I can tell you that it is definitely a more challenging route.

This might make me stronger, yes? Maybe, but wouldn't that equate to similar speeds on the new route and only faster on the old route? Instead this new route with more hills has me going measurably faster. To make matters worse, I can't really do the old route for comparison.

2. Seat Position
My seat was all the way back. Adjusted for the correct height (heels-on-pedals method), after a hard ride I felt it mostly where my hamstrings met my glutes. Just before the move, I moved it forward and re-adjusted the height (took a few tries). This has left me perhaps with a more efficient application of power on the cranks, but also more upright in the wind. I'd think that would be a wash, but maybe not.

3. Core Exercises
I have a bad low back, which generally stems from the mid body X being off kilter. Strong quads and lower back muscles, weak abs and glutes. So I started doing planks and back bridges to strengthen these lacking muscle groups. I have noticed that I am much straighter now (when my back is bad I am crooked in the hip area, which is a strange thing to see and difficult to describe).