TRAINING TO WIN! advice needed..

kostaki112

Jan 4, 2015
im a beginner cyclist who's been training for about 6 months. Im 24, 6'1 and weigh 85 kgs. iv recently hired a coach and iv been training seriously for about a month. i hope to win a race in the coming season but im unsure of where i am with the numbers ( watts, cadence etc). my cadence is at 100rpm average and i also average around 290 in watts. i guess my question is where does my power have to be if i want to win a 60-80 km race? id like to actually compete with the guys out there and not be left behind (hopefully i can find a win somewhere down the road). any feedback is much appreciated!

i should also mention that my aerobic base is a bit poor. i average around 140-150 bpm during power tests. my HR is at 180+ during the last quarter of a 20 minute test. hopefully the HR is lowered with repetitive training

You're paying a coach and he/she can't answer your questions? Find another coach...