First Marathon

B

Brendon

Hi all,

Newbie here to this newsgroup. Is there a FAQ I should read first?

I have made the decision to run my 1st full marathon, and am after a little advice. I have the 18
week schedule from Hal Higdons site, and it ties in with when the marathon is, being the 1st May
2004, so I will start on New Years day.

Is there more I need to know, or will his site cover pretty much the basics?

Kind regards, Brendon in NZ

ps. the run is the 40th Anniversary of the Fletcher Marathon in New Zealand. NZ's biggest marathon.
http://www.rotoruamarathon.co.nz/

Brendon wrote:

> Hi all,
>
> Newbie here to this newsgroup. Is there a FAQ I should read first?

Ozzie Gontang maintains the FAQ. It is in 8 parts - search the newsgroup or try via Google. Lots of
good info.

> I have made the decision to run my 1st full marathon, and am after a little advice. I have the 18
> week schedule from Hal Higdons site, and it ties in with when the marathon is, being the 1st May
> 2004, so I will start on New Years day.

Hal Higdon has good programs. We could help you more if you give some more background. How long have
you been running? Past races? PR's? Current mileage.

> Is there more I need to know, or will his site cover pretty much the basics?

He'll cover a lot. But if you're running a marathon there's a lot of info on other sites. Try
www.runnersworld.com and www.runningtimes.com for starters.

> Kind regards, Brendon in NZ
>
> ps. the run is the 40th Anniversary of the Fletcher Marathon in New Zealand. NZ's biggest
> marathon. http://www.rotoruamarathon.co.nz/

Looks like a nice race.

Good luck,

Anthony.

"Brendon" <[email protected]> wrote in message news:<[email protected]>...
> Hi all,
>

(An intelligent lad, a wonderful lad!) Yes, check out this link http://www.faqs.org/faqs/running-
faq/

>
> I have made the decision to run my 1st full marathon, and am after a little advice. I have the 18