Training tips.

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

John Staines

Hi everyone,

I'm rather new to this cycling business and I'm looking for some training tips concerning the art of
hill climbing.

If a hill is rather long I tend to struggle and basically feel as if I'm about to die! :eek:)

I usually pick a really easy gear and slowly but surely make my way up but I'd like to be able to
improve and climb quicker....and not feel as tired at the top :eek:) Sometimes I don't always get to
the top ;o)

I've also been trying to spin up the hills ie 90+ cadence...as I've heard revving feeds on your
aerobic fitness and stops the depletion of something (I can't remember what they call it) from your
muscles...the theory (for want of a better word) is that your delaying the lactic blow up that you
get while climbing. I've been finding this very difficult to do on longish steep climbs.

Am I going about it in the right way? Could anyone out there give me some hints and tips on how to
improve my climbing? What exercises should or could I be doing to improve?

Many thanks

John

I have been trying to conquer Checkers Hill Road and seem to only be able to get to the same spots
all the time before I can't go on anymore...and thats from either side of the hill. I've been going
as far as I can...roll down...and start again.

John Staines <[email protected]> wrote:
> Hi everyone,

> I'm rather new to this cycling business and I'm looking for some training tips concerning the art
> of hill climbing.

> If a hill is rather long I tend to struggle and basically feel as if I'm about to die! :eek:)

Going up hills suck. Hills hurt. They slow you down and take your time. That's part of riding.

> I usually pick a really easy gear and slowly but surely make my way up but I'd like to be able to
> improve and climb quicker....and not feel as tired at the top :eek:) Sometimes I don't always get to
> the top ;o)

We'd all like to climb quicker.