03 Trek 1200

dlgrant

Sep 29, 2003
I am new to the whole road bike thing. I have been admiring the sport for several months, and want a bike bad. My LBS has a 2003 Trek 1200, I had looked at it in the fall (the same bike) and they still have it. Then it was 899.00, and they were willing to go to 750.00. I Have Two questions 1- is this a good bike to start with, 2- what would be a good price now??? Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated..

Originally posted by dlgrant
I am new to the whole road bike thing. I have been admiring the sport for several months, and want a bike bad. My LBS has a 2003 Trek 1200, I had looked at it in the fall (the same bike) and they still have it. Then it was 899.00, and they were willing to go to 750.00. I Have Two questions 1- is this a good bike to start with, 2- what would be a good price now??? Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated..

That last price doesn't sound to bad... Understand your LBS probably doesn't have a great deal of margin to work with so can't go much lower. (Ask him about discounts on accs. water bottles, cages, computer, bike shorts etc.)

That might be a fine bike to begin with. Does it have Shimano 105 like the 2004 1200's? The 105 group isn't a bad entry level component group. I raced on 105's many many times. My first Trek had 105 grouppo....but that was 1989..and the bike had down tube shifters.

Does your budget absolutely demand that the bike cost less than 1k? Just a few hundred more dollars and your options offer many more possibilities...which would include Ultegra components.

Have you seen this...
http://www.coloradocyclist.com/comm...FNBR=273&CRPCGNBR=273&CI=1,223,273&TextMode=0

That said....I think there are some advantages to buying from the local bike shop versus shopping online.

Regards, Kevin

Originally posted by Cipher