12-26 Cassette, How Effective Is It For Climbing?

Uawadall

Jun 14, 2015
I'll be the first to admit that I'm a novice when it comes to bike maintenance and upgrades. I've noticed when I go up hills with a grade of 8-9% or higher, my cadence becomes significantly lower.I've heard that you can swap out your cassette for the ability to lower your gearing and am wondering if it is possible with my current setup. My front chainring is a 50-34(top has 50 teeth, bottom one has 34) and my cassette is a sram pg 1070 12/26.

Obviously my cadence will increase with training(only have been riding for 4 months), but I'm trying to figure out if its possible to lower my gearing for those especially steep hills. This is my current bike btw

[sharedmedia=core:attachments:742]

I think most--if not all--of the newer Shimano rear mechs can handle a 30t or even a 32t granny cog in the back. I know that some of the Synapse CF models come with an 11-30 cassette. Mine came with an 11-28, but I don't need a 28. I swapped it out for a 12-25.

It takes all of about 10 minutes, tops, to change a cassette. You need the lock ring tool, a chain whip, and a 25 mm or 1" box or crescent wrech to turn the lock ring tool. And a little elbow grease. Don't lose, or forget to replace, the hub spacer. Shimano and SRAM cassettes only fit on the hub one way---the right one. So try a wider range cassette for now, and when your fitness gets better, you can put the 12-26 back on.

I'm the fastest up the hills in the group I ride with on Saturdays.They're mostly experienced(5-20 years each) and range in age from 35-60, around 15 of us. I'm by far the youngest at 28 and lightest per inch of height. Pretty good uphills for a newbie, but still a newbie..