1980s Trek Bike

Discussion in 'Bike buying advice' started by smgn1996, May 29, 2013.

1. smgn1996

smgn1996 New Member

I am interested in buying my first road bike (and my first bike in general in over ten years).

I found one on Craigslist, but I have no real knowledge or frame of reference, so I don't really know what I'm looking at or whether it's a good deal. Is there any chance someone can help me out? Is it a good price, and is this something I could probably use on a daily basis without any issues?

The bike can be found here: http://pensacola.craigslist.org/bik/3798652938.html

Thanks for the help!

Tags:

2. alfeng

alfeng Well-Known Member

FWIW. I don't know about that particular TREK, but the 80s were the period when Trek first established their reputation for quality frames ...

So, if you are taller than 6'0", then THAT particular Trek would be a good bike, as is ...

And, the frame is certainly worthy of updating with more contemporary components in the future IF THE SPIRIT MOVES YOU in that direction.

3. sitzmark

sitzmark Member

Looks like a Trek 700, or 900 series. Lugged Reynolds/True Temper frame set. Nice but a bit on the "heavy side" by contemporary standards. As far as durability it is a tank.

The Suntour components may be a bit hard to service if you want to keep it stock, since the company has long been out of business. That said, as configured it is friction shift, so you don't have to worry about Suntour/Sachs indexed freewheels/hubs, derailleurs, etc. You'll be the indexer. :)