1st Crit of the Season

Deafwolf

Jun 21, 2010
Hey gang. I'm back. Had a good time after last years season. I road in the LA triathlon and ran my first half marathon in 1:50:48. Now it's back to crit season and time to retrain the legs for power and lactate threshold.
The first race with CBR, California Bicycle Racing was at Dominguez Hills, CA. Here is a short synopsis I hope gets dome of you fired up. Dominguez Hills is a great course, it has four relatively wide turns, no strategic cornering required. The race was set for all right turns today. There was a fair breeze blowing thanks to the Santa Ana winds, but not too strongly as I had feared driving in. the course is mostly flat with a slight decrease in elevation after turn #1 and slight increase after turn #3.
Disclaimer: Forgive some of my rudimentary explanations, but being that I was a beginner last year, I still like to explain some of the basics for those who have never raced before and would like to learn a little more about it.
My day was pleasantly full. I felt great waking up this morning. Healthy and full of confidence. It was also nice to get a good 7 hours of sleep last night too. Started the morning off with coffee and juice. Then loaded the bike and made it to the race site about 9am. Race was at 9:55 so I had time to sign my waiver, register, pay, and warm up on my trainer for 20 min. A trainer is a mounting device that allows me to ride my bike while stationary. It's absolutely essential to warm up the legs before a race for optimum performance.