1st Road Bike for 100mile 1 day ride?

DanRbn

Jul 11, 2011
Hi everyone,

I've been riding a Scott Sportster P6 for the last 2 years. I used it to get me to class, work, and for some good work out rides. Could handle the potholes, some gravel trails - basically it's been perfect so far. (Oh I should point out my knowledge of bike equipment is pretty much zilch =D)

I have signed up for a 100 mile road ride to be done in a day and feel that now it's probably a good time for me to take a plunge to a real roadbike. As a cheap student still, cost still plays a really large role with me. Is the Scott Speedster S50 a reasonable bike for this to get the job done? I'm looking at it priced $699 (http://www.rei.com/product/809915/scott-speedster-s50-bike-2011). I have some loyalty to Scott because of my pleasant experience with them so far, but am really open to all suggestions, especially since I have no idea.

Thanks, any insight greatly appreciated!

Note: Meant to put this in the bike buying thread, a bit new to this sorry, not sure how to switch the forum I put it in...

When is this ride?
There aren't many people who can step right up to a drop bar bike and have it work for them, most require some pretty serious acclimatization time before they're comfortable with a drop bar.

I'd say, stay with your current bike instead, spend some money on cycling shoes, spd-pedals, maybe a nice pump with a manometer, perhaps new tires. Touring bars are reasonably inexpensive, will take your current shifter/brakes no trouble and will offer some more hand positions to chose from if you want that.

DanRbn, nothing wrong with the bike you selected if the geometry fits you. If it is any consolation I have a friend that went to the World Ironman a few years ago on a Performance brand frame with low end Shimano parts. He said people laughed at him, but he ended up placing fairly decent.