2003 XTR shifting counterintuitive???

woodsrider

Jul 7, 2003
I'm a newbie on the site, so pardon me if this subject has been hashed out in a previous post.

Is it just me, or does the shifting seem bass ackwards? In other words, it just seems more intuitive for me to push down on the brake lever to shift to a lower gear (bigger rear cog), and pull up on the lever to shift to a taller gear (smaller rear cog).

I just got a new SC Blur built out, and it's kinda weird so far. Maybe I'll adapt soon. Any thoughts??:confused:

Originally posted by woodsrider
I'm a newbie on the site, so pardon me if this subject has been hashed out in a previous post.

Is it just me, or does the shifting seem bass ackwards? In other words, it just seems more intuitive for me to push down on the brake lever to shift to a lower gear (bigger rear cog), and pull up on the lever to shift to a taller gear (smaller rear cog).

I just got a new SC Blur built out, and it's kinda weird so far. Maybe I'll adapt soon. Any thoughts??:confused:

I'm sorry, I can't get past the fact that you have a blur....

do you love it?

I just got it built up the day before going on an inlaw visit in deep East Texas. I brought my SC Superlight to do some road riding while I'm here. I'm deep in bubba-ville -- I haven't even seen a bike on the road. When I rode my SL yesterday, people looked at me like I had just flown in from Mars.

I rode the Blur just a little before leaving. The lack of pedal bob is really nice. I can't wait to get it in the rocky singletrack around town in Colorado!

I found the XTR shifting totally intuitive. I really liked the fact that the spring pulls the rear mech onto lower gears rather than onto higher ones. Allowed me to pop it down several gears really quickly. That said I rode with a guy who had a conventional rear mech rigged up with them so you could pull up for a higher gear...

frey: