2008 Trek 1.2 Upgrades?

darbsrewop

Jul 6, 2008
Hey -

I'm relatively new to cycling and have had my Trek 1.2 for a little over a year. Only upgrade that I have done is to clip less pedals. What do you guys suggest as a good upgrade for the best bang for the buck?

Thanks in advance.

darbsrewop said:
Hey -

I'm relatively new to cycling and have had my Trek 1.2 for a little over a year. Only upgrade that I have done is to clip less pedals. What do you guys suggest as a good upgrade for the best bang for the buck?

Thanks in advance.

A coach, a nutritionalist, a massage therapist. Things for the engine. Like Eddy said, 'ride lots'.
The bike is there to get you there.

Hey,

First post here, so hi everyone.

I bought a Trek 1200, back in 2005. It's a bit like Grandad's axe - he says it's the same axe, but the handle has been changed twice and the axe-head once..:)

My bike is very similar to yours. Like you I didn't know much about cycling when I got it (still learning), but I followed the advice of a friend who told me to get the best quality frame I could afford that was the best fit for me. The Trek frame is a tad on the heavy side, but right from the first ride I was amazed at how comfortable it was to ride, especially after all the reviews I read about harsh aluminum was. This is after coming off a mountain bike with slicks.

Turns out the geometry for this model is a bit relaxed. Suits me for the endurance riding I do - I'm no racer.

Now I agree with the other posters - its not about the bike. And I fully confess to upgrade fever. But here's some of the things I changed, and why:

-Bottom bracket. Wore the first one out in 1500 ks. See Groupset below.

-Saddle. The Bontrager one made my bum hurt. Currently riding a Ritchey WCS Marathon, but for a long time it was a San Marco Aero.