2010 Vuelta a Espana: Stage 4 - Málaga - Valdepenas de Jaén, 183.8 km

Discussion in 'Professional Cycling' started by steve, Aug 31, 2010.

  1. steve

    steve Administrator
    Staff Member

    Aug 12, 2001
    Likes Received:
    Stage 4 - Málaga - Valdepeñas de Jaén, 183.8 km

    Speaking in sportingly terms the stage will compete for 183 km and it will be again impossible that nobody gets bored. This day is very important for the favourite ones, since they have to climb to the Altos de Zafarraya (2nd category), Montefrío (3rd category), and most important, Valdepeñas de Jaén, which is a 2nd category mountain pass located just 8 km before the finish line.
    By the way, there is also a very severe last kilometer, with some sections of over 15%. So it will be a guaranteed spectacle in a city that never had hosted a Vuelta finish.

    Stage Map
    View attachment 12841

    Stage Profile
    View attachment 12842

    The last KM's
    View attachment 12843

    Mountain Passes
    Alto de Zafarraya: 45.3km, 11.2km long @ 5.89% 2nd cat
    Alto de Montefrío: 114.0km, 8.0km long @ 5.44% 3rd cat
    Alto de Valdepeñas de Jaén: 167.0km, 7.8km long @ 4.83% 2nd cat

    General classification before stage 4
    1 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto 8:55:56
    2 Joaquin Rodriguez (Spa) Team Katusha 0:00:14
    3 Kanstantin Sivtsov (Blr) Team HTC-Columbia 0:00:22
    4 Tejay Van Garderen (USA) Team HTC-Columbia 0:00:26
    5 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo 0:00:28
    6 Peter Velits (Svk) Team HTC-Columbia
    7 Igor Anton (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi 0:00:35
    8 Xavier Tondo (Spa) Cervélo Test Team
    9 Frank Schleck (Lux) Team Saxo Bank 0:00:36
    10 Xavier Florencio (Spa) Cervélo Test Team 0:00:41
    11 Filippo Pozzato (Ita) Team Katusha 0:00:42
    12 Ivan Santaromita (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo 0:00:43
    13 Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Liquigas-Doimo
    14 Carlos Sastre (Spa) Cervélo Test Team 0:00:46
    15 Inigo Cuesta (Spa) Cervélo Test Team
    16 David Arroyo (Spa) Caisse d’Epargne 0:00:47
    17 Marzio Bruseghin (Ita) Caisse d’Epargne
    18 Ruben Plaza (Spa) Caisse d’Epargne
    19 Gustav Larsson (Swe) Team Saxo Bank
    20 Andrey Kashechkin (Kaz) Lampre-Farnese Vini

  2. pennstater

    pennstater New Member

    May 5, 2010
    Likes Received:
    Nice attack and win by Igor Anton on a very steep hill to the finish. I think the Vuelta organizer's have done a pretty good job at making the last km's of some of the early stages very interesting. Not very huge time gaps between the overall contendors (except for Sastre, A Shcleck and Christian) but they are time gaps none the less. Tommorow looks like a stage for a breakaway or a bunch sprint on the line.