2011 Melbourne to Warrnambool Classic


Aug 12, 2001
The Warny started in 1895 and is Australia's oldest one day race and the world's second oldest one day race, after the Liège–Bastogne–Liège Classic. The route starts in Melbourne and traditionally followed the Princes Highway to Warrnambool on Victoria's western coast.
The race was a handicap event from 1895 to 1995, with riders leaving Melbourne at different intervals. From 1996 the race has been conducted as a Scratch Race with a mass start with up to 250 entrants, categorized into A, B, C, and D grades over a distance of 267 km. In 2004 it was changed to 299.1 km. In the towns on route there are now sprint points to be earned for a sprint champion competition. With six climbs during the day, a King of the Mountains championship is also at stake. Recent Winners Year Winner Team 2005 Jonas Ljungblad (SWE) Amore e Vita 2006 Robert McLachlan (AUS) Drapac Porsche 2007 Tim Decker (AUS) Decked Out Coaching 2008 Zak Dempster (AUS) VIS / Jayco - Toyota United 2009 Joel Pearson (AUS) Savings And Loans 2010 Rhys Pollock (AUS) Drapac Porsche
Win Nalini Pro Collection kit worth $500 The aussie importers of Nalini have donated a $500 voucher for a member who takes the best 'warny photo' and posts it to this thread. The Nalini Pro Collection is yet to hit the shops, so you'll be the first in your training groups wearing the new kit that makes most others look poorly made.

Unlike most clothing manufactures, Nalini is actually tested in the extremes. COFIDIS, LE CRÉDIT EN LIGNE, EUSKALTEL - EUSKADI, FDJ, HTC-HIGHROAD, MOVISTAR TEAM, PRO TEAM ASTANA, RABOBANK CYCLING TEAM, SKY PROCYCLING and TEAM EUROPCAR all completed this years Tour de France wearing Nalini Clothing.

2011 Start List
Genesys Wealth Advisers 1 Nathan Haas (ACT) 2 Steele Von Hoff (VIC) 3 Joel Pearson (QLD) 4 Patrick Shaw (VIC) 5 Anthony Giacoppo (WA) 6 Kyle Marwood (QLD) 7 Jason Rigg (WA) 8 Kane Walker (VIC) Fenton Green P/B Spencers Race 9 Matthew Lloyd (VIC) 10 Mark O'Brien (VIC) 11 Peter Ladd (VIC) 12 Tim Hucker (VIC) 13 Kel Chaffey-Jones (VIC) 14 David Tozer (VIC)
Bikebug.Com 15 Andrew Crawley (NSW) 16 Caleb Jones (NSW) 17 Chris Jory (NSW) 18 Jake Magee (NSW) 19 Alexander Malone (NSW) 20 Sam Rutherford (NSW) 21 Julian Hamill (NSW) 22 Joshua Taylor (NSW)
Team Budget Forklifts 23 Michael Cupitt (QLD) 24 Luke Davison (NSW) 25 Peter Herzig (NSW) 26 Chris Jongewaard (SA) 27 Brian Mcleod (QLD) 28 Chris Savage (VIC) 29 Jason Spencer (VIC)
Plan B Racing 30 Bradeley Hall (WA) 31 Andrew Martin (WA) 32 Chris Beeck (VIC) 33 Samuel Davis (WA) 34 Michael Verheyen (WA)
John West Cycling 35 Rene Kolbach (NSW) 36 Steven Pilson (VIC) 37 Rowan Dever (GBR) 38 Michael Knoff (VIC) 39 Steven Del Gallo (VIC) 40 James Bennett (VIC)
Suzuki Trek 41 Mitchell Flynn (ACT) 42 William Lind (ACT) 43 Stephen Bomball (ACT) 44 Brendan Johnston (QLD) 45 Ivan Michelin-Beard (ACT)
Search2Retain 46 Tom Donald (VIC) 47 Charles Howlett (VIC) 48 Steven Robb (VIC) 49 Luke Fetch (VIC) 50 Jay Bourke (VIC)
BikeBug.Com - Forza Capital 51 Benjamin Johnson (VIC) 52 Adam Murchie (VIC) 53 Travers Nuttall (VIC) 54 Aaron Salisbury (VIC) 55 David Mulhall (VIC)
SASI/Team O'Grady 56 Harry Carpenter (SA) 57 Scott Mcphee (SA) 58 Phillip Mundy (SA) 59 Fraser Northey (SA) 60 George Tansley (SA) 61 Andrew Roe (SA)
Eastern Oak 62 Luke Aggett (VIC) 63 Nicholas D'Ambrosio (NSW) 64 Karl Evans (QLD) 65 Stephen Fairless (VIC) 66 Trent Stevenson (VIC) 67 Russell Gill (SA) 68 Dylan Hately (VIC)
Wyndham City Council 69 Anthony Kellen (QLD) 70 Tom Leaper (VIC) 71 Nicholas Mitchell (VIC) 72 Tom Paton (VIC) 73 Michael Smith (TAS) 74 Andrei Tonello (QLD) 75 Luigi Vecchio (VIC)
Warrnambool City Council 76 Edward White (NSW) 77 Samuel Witmitz (VIC) 78 Lachlan Ambrose (SA) 79 Callum Fagg (TAS) 80 Rhys Gillett (VIC) 81 Mitchell Lovelock-Fay (ACT) 82 Joel Stearnes (TAS) 83 Jacob Sutherland (VIC)
Cycling-Inform Team 84 Brendan Rowbotham (VIC) 85 Harry Hanley (VIC) 86 Danny Kah (VIC)
Footscray Cycling Club 87 James Bell (VIC) 88 Adam Trewin (VIC) 89 Nathan Wilson (VIC) 90 William Murray (VIC) 91 Geoffrey Robertson (VIC) 92 Trevor Perry (VIC)
MA Cycling - Jarasport 93 Simon Knowles (VIC) 94 James Love (VIC) 95 Pascal Lussier-Duquette (VIC) 96 Mitchell Cooper (VIC) 97 Justin Matthews (VIC) 98 Liam McCrory (VIC) 99 Gavin De Kretser (VIC) 100 Rian Douglas (VIC)
Sole Devotion 101 Lee Turner (VIC) 102 William Raisin-Shaw (VIC) 103 Nick Bensley (VIC) 104 Tim McGrath (VIC) 105 Mark Guirguis (VIC)
TKM Slattery 106 Byron Davy (VIC) 107 Adrian Jackson (VIC) 108 Michal Krodkiewski (VIC) 109 Nicholas Mceniry (VIC) 110 Reece Stephens (VIC) 111 Joel Strachan (VIC) 112 Ben White (VIC)
Zoom Video Racing 113 Michael Brown (VIC) 114 Andrew Clark (VIC) 115 Wesley Cordingley (VIC) 116 Cameron Mcdonald (VIC) 117 Daniel Strauss (VIC)
SEW-Eurodrive 118 Rodney Andonopoulos (VIC) 119 Leigh Clifford (VIC) 120 Danny Cohen (VIC) 121 Steven Martin (VIC) 122 Conan Daley (VIC) 123 Anthony Fewster (VIC) 124 Lewis Garland (NSW) 125 Dermot Healy (VIC)
Lady Bay Resort 126 Ben James (VIC) 127 Philip Turnbull (VIC) 128 David Kelly (VIC) 129 Ben Hilleard (VIC) 130 Peter Malcolm (VIC) 131 Samuel Rix (VIC) 132 Anthony Seipolt (VIC) 133 Reece-Emerson Van Beek (VIC)
Tifosi Eyewear 134 Boon Yeo (VIC) 135 Andrew Christie (VIC) 136 Cameron Winton (VIC) 137 Brendan Mahony (VIC) 138 Peter Apps (QLD) 139 Tim Claeys (VIC) 140 Matthew Opperman (SA)
Crino Cycles 141 Ben Aigner (VIC) 142 Brent Hall (VIC) 143 James Ciuffetelli (VIC) 144 Vince Condello (VIC) 145 John Dam (VIC) 146 Mike Edgar (VIC)
Evolution Cycles 147 Dave Edwards (VIC) 148 Tony Piacquadio (VIC) 149 Mat Tippett (VIC) 150 Daniel Standen (VIC) 151 Andrew Caune (VIC)
Latrobe City Cycling Club 152 Samuel Beveridge (VIC) 153 Daniel Gafa (VIC) 154 Glenn Schoer (VIC) 155 Brett Van Berkl (VIC) 156 Christopher Joustra (VIC)
6AM-ERS Cycling 157 Wayne Flint (VIC) 158 Richard Read (VIC) 159 Brad James (VIC) 160 Brad Fogg (VIC) 161 Gus Gollings (VIC)
Warrnambool Sheetmetal 162 Benjamin Douglas (VIC) 163 John Forrest (ACT) 164 Vincent Geluwie (VIC) 165 Matthew Gstrein (VIC) 166 Timshel Knoll-Miller (VIC) 167 Jake Morgan (VIC)
Cheese World 168 Tim O'Leary (VIC) 169 Neil Robinson (VIC) 170 Nicholas Squillari (VIC) 171 Derek Bogaert (VIC) 172 Peter Clarke (VIC) 173 Tim Jones (VIC)
Independent Cranes 174 Tony Escott (VIC) 175 Paul La Cava (VIC) 176 Alejandro Jimenez (VIC) 177 Jack Carecos (VIC) 178 Gabriel Carey (VIC) 179 Ross Hamilton (VIC)
VIP Packaging 180 Mitchell Allen (VIC) 181 Glynn Matthey (VIC) 182 Patrick Mcintyre (VIC) 183 Colin Bell (VIC) 184 John Marcan (VIC) 185 Michael Skerritt (VIC)
The Standard 186 Iain Clark (VIC) 187 Sam Evans (VIC) 188 James O'Keefe (VIC) 189 Matt Hand (VIC) 190 Peter Markey (VIC) 191 Glen Bowen (VIC)
Radio 3Yb 192 Thomas Mcdonough (VIC) 193 Gary Mclennan (QLD) 194 Neale Adams (VIC) 195 Peter May (VIC) 196 Tony McGann (VIC) 197 Erich Gstrein (VIC) 198 Daryl Stewart (VIC)
Flagstaff Hill 199 Daniel Chalhoub (NSW) 200 Josh Egbers (VIC) 201 Andrew Hutcheson (VIC) 202 Steven Waite (VIC) 203 Gareth Knight (VIC) 204 Peter Reid (VIC)
Shipwreck Coast Marketing 205 Paul Hearne (WA) 206 Chris Halley (VIC) 207 Paul Volk (VIC) 208 Kane Fraser (VIC) 209 Jason Farnell (VIC) 210 Ray Forbes (VIC)
1 Joel Pearson (Genesys Wealth Advisers) 7:24:14 2 Nathan Haas (Genesys Wealth Advisers) 0:00:13 3 Luke Fetch (Search2Retain) 0:00:15 4 Samuel Davis (Plan B Racing) 5 Steele Von Hoff (Genesys Wealth Advisers) 0:00:36 6 Luke Davison (Team Budget Forklifts) 7 Bradeley Hall (Plan B Racing) 8 Chris Jory (Bikebug.Com) 9 Brendan Johnston (Suzuki Trek) 10 Nicholas Mitchell (Wyndham City Council)
More...... http://www.cyclingnews.com/races/melbourne-to-warrnambool-ne-1/results

Here are some photos from today's race