2014 Jake vs. Invite 2 vs. customized Felt Nine-80

alanamcdowell

Sep 6, 2013
Hello all!

I'm a college student in Boulder, Colorado and I'm looking to buy a bike!

Most of my riding is going to be on the streets, (with a backpack and books and all that) but I definitely want to do some mountain biking and trail riding, as well as some small bike trips (150 miles or less.) Those would probably be on pavement.

I also want something that will handle well in the rain and possibly snow (or slush.)

I really like the feel of drop down handle bars, as I tend to want to get in the optimal position for really pumping and gathering good momentum. I'm female, 5'4", and I weigh around 115.

I'm considering 2 cyclocross bikes and a customized mountain bike:

2014 Jake, by Kona (Cyclocross bike for $1200)

Invite 2, by Giant (Womens' specific Cyclocross bike for $1150)

Nine 80, by Felt (Mountain bike for $600) For this one i would have drop handlebars installed.
I'm not sure how that would work or feel considering the geometry of a mountain bike is different than that of cyclo-x or road bikes, but I know that I absolutely want the versatility of droppers. I would also switch to thinner tires for more precision on the road. This one might cost up to $800 or $900 after the work I'd want on it is done.

What do you think?
Which seems like the best option? I'm trying to be economical which is why I'm still considering customizing a cheaper bike which would still cost less than either of the cyclo-x bikes. But is that a wonky idea?

Do you know of any other reliable cyclocross bikes that would be a good option for me?
Or really anything that is speedy and smooth on the road but handles the bumps and surprises of mountain riding..

THANK YOU so much for your help!!
Peace.