30 Days - NO BEER

breadbasket1

Mar 22, 2014
~~I am on day 30 of no Beer. I have lost 3.5 inches on my waste and 13 pounds while gaining .5 inches on my quads and keeping my biceps the same size. So I know that I have basically lost fat.

I "replaced" my beer with A &W Diet Root Beer - for now. It taste great and is "less filling"

I should say......I drank Sierra Nevada Torpedo Indian Pale Ale. It has 260 calories for each bottle. I drank 30 bottles a week. So I basically cut 7800 calories a week from my diet.

I have not changed my otherwise healthy diet.

I am a beginner cyclist who is training for races in the summer and fall. I also do long walks in the woods (hills) with my two Corgies and lift weights at home.

Also, since I am a teacher I have 10 weeks "off" in the summer so I often do longer rides and double sessions of weights and aerobics. And I have extra recovery time.

I biked 32 miles this week and I am feeling a HUGE difference.

1. I no longer and burning off alcohol the first few miles.

2. I can go faster and hills are a lot easier since I weight less.

3. Going to the bathroom is AMAZING. I pee better. I am guessing this is because my body doesn't have to work at dealing with the beer?

4. I sleep better

5. I am richer since I save $45 a week which means I spent $2340 a year on BEER !!!!!!!!!!!!

I am NOT giving up beer 100%. I will drink it when I go out to eat but I have not gone out to eat for 30 days. Also, if I am at a party and there is IPA I would drink some.

Reactions: ambal
Good job!

Not only that but alcohol interferes heavily with the glycolytic system and riding, especially riding fast, relies heavily on glycogen as fuel.

Binge type drinking (my favorite) also adversely affects testosterone levels and not great for muscle repair.

And growth hormones involved in tissue repair mainly emerge around the REM cycle. So no dreams is bad news for beat up legs.