38 degrees seems freakin' COLD right now.

GrowingStronger

Aug 22, 2013
In January, riding in 38 degree weather would be a treat. Sure seems cold after a long summer. Back to the full winter gear any time now - unless, this being the Midwest, it's 94 next week like it was a few years ago in early October. Damn, I wish I wasn't such a wuss.

Global Warmingâ„¢

55° when I started riding to the Pa. border and back and I froze.

38° and riding...you aren't a wuss.

I'd take some of that now - they claim we're going to get slammed this winter. I guess if that happens, I'll have to spend more quality time with my skis and snowshoes.

Same same. If the projected white blasts of Global Warmingâ„¢ from the Union Of Concerned Scientists hit's us as they say, the waxable and waxless XC skis come out and I hit the groomed trails for Nordic style. Never could skate-ski to save my ass!

As long as he roads are clear and dry, I'll ride. I draw the line at about 25° nowadays. That's plenty cold enough!

I'll go out to the mid-teens if there isn't wind. But I really layer up - it's hit or miss, too many variables. My problem this very early am was I didn't layer enough, and didn't turn around half mile out when I thought " hey, gonna freeze my butt off."

My limit for a road bike is about 25, too. That's with wool socks, pull on tights over bibs, a thermal base layer, and a windproof jacket. Balaclava under the helmet. My wife's cousin sent me some X/C ski gloves from Finland that are great. Split mittens.

I've ridden down to about 16F, but that was on a cruiser with ski pants and winter boots (platform pedals). And ski goggles. Day after Thanksgiving a couple of years ago.

Yeah, my first winter as a newbie. I'm already whining about temps in the 60's. What do i need to buy for winter biking?

Quote: Originally Posted by gs12 .
Yeah, my first winter as a newbie. I'm already whining about temps in the 60's. What do i need to buy for winter biking?