5 power meters, 5 ways of measuring. What's the best?

jojoma

Sep 7, 2007
I'm still a novice with power, and looking at the following devices, they all have a different way of calculating power:

SRM: Crank
Ergomo: Bottom Bracket
Powertap: Hub
Polar: Chain
iBike: Opposing Forces

Is one way better than the rest? Do they do it differently because of patents or because power measurement is still somewhat new and they are looking for differentiation?

I'm sure over the years there have been contraptions to measure heart rate through the wrist, the forefinger, the neck, or other places, but the industry has standardized on the chest strap. Will power measurement move in one direction too?

jojoma said:
I'm still a novice with power, and looking at the following devices, they all have a different way of calculating power:

SRM: Crank
Ergomo: Bottom Bracket
Powertap: Hub
Polar: Chain
iBike: Opposing Forces

Is one way better than the rest? Do they do it differently because of patents or because power measurement is still somewhat new and they are looking for differentiation?

I'm sure over the years there have been contraptions to measure heart rate through the wrist, the forefinger, the neck, or other places, but the industry has standardized on the chest strap. Will power measurement move in one direction too?

SRM and Powertap are the only consistent and accurate powermeters currently available.

Roadie_scum said:
SRM and Powertap are the only consistent and accurate powermeters currently available.

I would add a properly installed Polar to that list...and I've got almost 1 month's worth of "head to head" data with a PT to prove it :D

Tom Anhalt said:
I would add a properly installed Polar to that list...and I've got almost 1 month's worth of "head to head" data with a PT to prove it :D
Problem is... you need a PT to "properly install" a Polar!

lanierb said:
Problem is... you need a PT to "properly install" a Polar!