$5000

JAPANic

Aug 11, 2003
So you've got $5000US to spend on a new road bike what would you buy?

This is serious research, your answers are going to sway me to spend $5000....

My opinion is not important in this debate because I have no idea!!

All I'll say is, these brands have my attention....

Pinarello, TREK, DeRosa, Colnago,...

I will be ordering in March!!!

You need to ask yourself what you are going to do with the bike, what are your future plans, do you intend to race at the elite level, or do you just want to pimp the bike to your friends and co-riders ...............

The only reason I had 7 bikes, with the average being close to $3000 was because I worked in a shop and got things at or below cost, and had a spending addiction and 5 credit cards(don't laugh, it's a real thing ....)

You could have a custom frame built for you by a renowned builder (Hollands, Waterford, etc.) and get a full Dura-Ace or Record kit and have a bike for just over $3000.

Or you could go to your LBS and get a Giant TCR Composit team with full Record that weighs 16 pounds.

OR, you could figure what you are really going to do with the bike, and buy accordingly, and invest the rest of it. That would be my suggestion. I'm not trying to bust your chops, just trying to make sure you are doing the right thing.

Now, if you are already independently wealthy, then ignore what I have already said ....... ;)

My goal is to get a bike that will be fast for 20km to 100km races.
I'm 40 and not in great shape, but I plan on being competitive in my class next year.
I finished 11th in a 12km race last month 4 seconds off the winner and I was the 3rd oldest guy in the race...

I just want to be in the top 6 places next year in a few races and I'll be happy.

I don't want a bike to show off with, but I want fast & strong.

Is fast light?
Is fast a brand name?
Is fast a figment of our imaginations?
Would Lance win the Tour De France on a dinky?