52/39 & 13/26...Does that sound about right for me?

mansize-rooster

Oct 28, 2007
Hi,
I am new to road biking and have recently bought a bike from a friend. It is a Peugeot road bike with Campagnolo Veloce 9 Speed components (52/42 front, 12/23 back), he originally bought in 2001 so is a little dated now.

However I believe this to be too highly geared for me as really struggle to keep the bike moving on even moderately difficult climbs so am looking to change to a 52/39 front and 13/26 back.

1.Will this give me the extra range I want as I intend to ride it in the Peak District/Lake Distict in the UK (hilly areas!)?

2. Do I have to replace Campagnolo Veloce with Campagnolo Veloce or can it be any other Campagnolo chaninrings/cassettes?

3. Any suggestions as to which cassette/chainrings i should purcahse (limited budget) in the UK?

Any advice welcome. Thanks

mansize-rooster said:
Hi,
I am new to road biking and have recently bought a bike from a friend. It is a Peugeot road bike with Campagnolo Veloce 9 Speed components (52/42 front, 12/23 back), he originally bought in 2001 so is a little dated now.

However I believe this to be too highly geared for me as really struggle to keep the bike moving on even moderately difficult climbs so am looking to change to a 52/39 front and 13/26 back.

1.Will this give me the extra range I want as I intend to ride it in the Peak District/Lake Distict in the UK (hilly areas!)?

2. Do I have to replace Campagnolo Veloce with Campagnolo Veloce or can it be any other Campagnolo chaninrings/cassettes?

3. Any suggestions as to which cassette/chainrings i should purcahse (limited budget) in the UK?

Thought this might help as far as gear ratios.

http://www.sheldonbrown.com/gears/

The Lake District is quite hilly I believe.