$700 Specialized Allez Sport - Buying Advice -Used.

Discussion in 'Bike buying advice' started by dcny7777, May 3, 2012.

1. dcny7777

dcny7777 New Member

Hi Everyone,

I am a newbie here to this forum and also a newbie to road cycling.

I currently have been mountain biking and have been for over 5 years
    I'm looking into purchasing an entry level road bike.

From the reviews I've read, the Specialized Allez Sport model is on the top of my shopping list right now.
    I do see that I could purchase this bike used from cyclists who have upgraded to full carbon.

The best offer I found for a 2010 Specialized Allez Sport with only 200 miles on it was for $700.

The bike appears to be in excellent condition.

Is this a pretty good price for this entry level bike, or should I shop around more? Any help or suggestions is much appreciated!

Thanks!

Tags:

2. supersix 105

supersix 105 New Member

thats almost retail price i think, price it between 5-$600.

3. supersix 105

supersix 105 New Member

4. dcny7777

dcny7777 New Member

Thanks for that info. The exact model is the"Specialized Allez Sport Compact".
    It shows at the link you provided above with an MSRP of: $850.

So, basically the seller is only knocking off $150 bucks.

Since it's a 2010 model and used, I would think a more reasonable price for the bike should be about in the $600 range.

I'll see if he's willing to negotiate with the price.

5. alfeng

alfeng Well-Known Member

If the MSRP was $850, then if you were to walk into a bike shop which had a NOS copy of the bike then they would probably have it marked down to ~$500.

FYI. 2012 bikes effectively become a year old at the end of Q2 (i.e., June 30th) ...

• yes, that means that the particular SPECIALIZED Allez Sport Compact should be considered to be a 3-year-old bike ...
    • if not NOW, then in less than two months!

Does it make a difference?

Yes-and-No ... the components could be significantly different ...