94% max HR for 38 min ?? (good or deadly?)

Discussion in 'Cycling Training' started by QuintanaG, Oct 15, 2006.

1. QuintanaG

QuintanaG New Member

I'm fairly new to cycling but I've noticed that it is the only exercise that causes a relatively high HR without much perceived exertion.

Just finished a 12 mile ride in 38:04 and an average HR of 178 (94% max). Honestly did not feel like I was working that hard. Other types of exercise would have wiped me out very quickly at this high HR.
    Is this a good thing or am I a heart attack waiting to happen? :confused:

Tags:

2. frenchyge

frenchyge New Member

I don't think there are any 'good' or 'bad' HRs. Stick to performance measurements instead. 18.9mph for 38 minutes is pretty good, work on improving that.

3. Duffy Pratt

Duffy Pratt New Member

How are you determining your max heart rate? If you are using the 220-Age formula, its likely that its wildly off.

If the number was your true max heart rate, I'm not sure that it would even be possible to maintain that intensity for 38 minutes. I could be wrong on that.

It's more likely that your max rate is much higher than you think, and you are working out at a lower percentage of max heart rate. You could figure this out by doing one of two things. You could do some intervals at maximum effort and see how high your heart rate goes. You probably can't get it to 100%, but I bet you can get it significantly higher than 185.

The second method would be to pick out a flat straight course with no stops that you can ride at for about 10 minutes. Warm up for at least ten minutes. Then do the course twice, with at least 5 minutes between for cooldown. On each interval, try to go at the top speed that you think you can maintain for the entire length. Your average heart rate for that distance will be close to your anaerobic threshold, and well below your max heart rate.