A Confession regarding the identity of Fabrizio Mazzoleni

Discussion in 'Road Cycling' started by Ryan John Cousi, Apr 1, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Well, it's the perfect time to come clean.

As some of you know, I have undergone quite a change of heart since entering this group about a
    year ago. I started out as a happy-go-lucky commuter on a bike with no name, and have ended up as a
    Pinarello-riding, race-winning, carbon-fork-using serious cyclist. More notably, I went from
    teasing Fabrizio Mazzoleni to self-appointed president of his fan club (membership: 2 and growing.
    Hi Claire!).

David Reuteler went so far as to suggest that I might actually be Fabs, and threatened to do some
    text-analysis to prove the case.

Well David, the text analysis would have proven nothing, as I did my Bachelor's degree in English,
    and have made an amateur study of text-style analysis in the intervening years. Indeed, run this
    particular paragraph through a text-analyzer, and it will tell you I'm William Faulkner! (No, I'm
    not really that good; I use the software myself for practice and fine-tuning).

The truth, as David did guess without possibly having been able to prove it, is that I am Fabrizio
    Mazzoleni. The mask is off, I am both rbm's most lovable troll and rbm's most lovable troll's
    biggest fan. An uneasy relationship, but you have to love yourself before you can love others, no?

In real life I really am Ryan Cousineau. The Pinarello, quite real. The UBC criterium, of course
    totally fake; the race hasn't even been run for two years. Nice Photoshop on the t-shirt, eh?
    The Trek OCLV fork I claim to have is also of course a put-up job. What kind of sacrilege would
    it be to replace a chrome Pinarello fork with a soulless carbon job, just to save 250 grams and
    avoid rusting?

Now, back to the Fabrizio Mazzoleni persona. It's me, all me. The infamous "complaints page" was a