A few beginner questions

Calipt

Jul 7, 2010
Hello,

First of all, sorry for making a topic about this but i felt it was easier to ask my questions for me specificly so people can help and advise me better.

I'm a beginner cyclist, I'm planning to start riding on the road because I've always loved cycling but due to other sports and hobbies I never had the chance for it. Now I do...

I have a few questions I'd like to ask and hopefully people can advise me well so I can go to a shop with at least some knowledge :)

1) The bike
Although I'm a beginner, I'm very motivated and I have a pretty large budget. But 'large' might not be a good word because I was surprised when I saw the common prices for race bikes. Let's say I have a 'budget' 'budget, (700-800euros for a bike).
I was looking at shop websites over here and I found a few bikes that caught my eye but I have no real knowledge about equipment. These are the models I'm interested in:
CAAD 8 SORA Race Red 2010
CAAD 8 TIAGRA Magnesium White/Green 2010
DEFY 4 Silver/White/Black 2010
DEFY 3 Silver/White/Black 2010
Granville G-RACER 20 2010
Granville G-RACER 10 2010
TREK 1.2 COMPACT Gloss Black 2010
TREK 1.2 TRIPLE Gloss Black 2010
TREK 1.5 COMPACT Pearl White/Black/Silver 2010
TREK 1.5 TRIPLE Pearl White/Black/Silver 2010

I admit I favour the TREKS at the moment just because I love their looks. I know nothing about specs. Any help or guidance is always welcome, like size, mechanics etc. I'm 1.78, slim and around 70kg. I cant say I have long legs and I don't know how to measure it for bikes. my inner leg size is around 80cm.

2) Shoes
I was also quite surprised on shoe prices. But they are needed so... I'm wondering which brands are good to get at a budget price. Also, Is there a universal pedal shoe or are there different systems? If so, which one to get.