A newbie needs to replace childhood bike

akerman

Jun 21, 2004
Hi. I'm from Denmark, I'm a newbie, and I need a new bicycle. I hope you can help!

Even though I only have about 2.5km to the university, my 11-year old Giant mountainbike, is just too heavy to operate, especially when going up against the wind. I want something light - in the hope, that I will convince myself to attend more classes, if the trip to campus isn't such a hassle

I don't understand much about bikes.. I just know from friends, that I shouldn't get the cheapest bike possible, so I'm currently looking at some bikes ranging from 600$ to 700$. I think I want a hybrid-bike - you know, not exactly a road/racing-bike, but not a city/comfort-bike either - somewhere in between.. a bike that wouldn't be hard to ride, but still a bike that I wouldn't be afraid to ride over a patch of rough ground/grass with.

These are two I really like the design off, and they seem to fit my criteria - they are of the MBK brand, once known as Motobécane:
black concept #1, 7 internal gears, with roll-brakes
black concept #2, 8 external gears, with standard on-tire brakes

I don't know the exact terms for the roll-brakes and the on-tire brakes in English (someone suggested that rollbrakes = disk brakes), but I hope you know what I mean. The second one is 100$ cheaper. Oh and the gears are "Shimano Nexus" btw.
Which one would be the better choice? I'm leaning towards the one with internal gears, because it would require a lot less maintenance.. but someone told me that there is an energy loss with internal gears, because the transfer of power from your legs to the tires isn't direct, as it is with external gears- the loss of energy is as much as 12-18%, he told me. Is that true? That might even negate the advantage of a having a lighter bike vs the old mountainbike.