Absolute Beginner

Dram

Jul 13, 2003
Hello everyone,

Wasn't sure where to post this, so the general forum seemed a likely place.

As the title says, I'm an absolute beginner to cycling. I have decided to start riding in an effort to gain fitness and lose (a lot of) weight. My experience to riding is limited to a couple of laps around the block with the kids, but I would like to get a little more serious and start riding some distance and maybe one day race.

Let me see....I'm 32, 183cm tall, weigh over 110kg :eek: and have a very low fitness level. I own a rather cheap and nasty mountain bike (which will have to do for now due to $$$$) and a helmet. I hope to be able to buy a reasonable road bike one day to get a little more serious.

But now for the questions...

* What sort of training would you recommend I start on? Riding a set distance and trying to better my times? Wieght training?

* What equipment would you recommend as essential for a beginner? (other than my bike and helmet)

*If I did happen to come into some money, what sort of bike would you recommend for beginners? (up to Aus$1000) and would a used bike be better value for money for a beginner?

I really have let my fitness go in the last couple of years, kids take up so much time, and I'm very keen to get back into some regular training.

I'd appreciate any advice.

Cheers.

Hello Dram,
I am not a beginner anymore - but this is just my second summer riding - so I can't give you a lot of techie information, just what I found useful when I began riding.

I bought my bike (Trek hybrid) summer '02 to help myself recover from an 8 month illness. My physical problem was the opposite of yours - profound weight loss, but I knew biking would help strengthen my body, build up my muscles, increase my metabolism and generally help my body heal. I think in losing weight you are also going through a long time of healing and biking, if done wisely, will be very good.