Advice about procurement of ZIPP 404 vs CAMPAGNOLO BORA

ciotic

Jan 3, 2007
I intend to buy a tubular wheels Zipp 404 or Campagnolo Bora.
I have now Mavic Ksyrium SL, and never ride tubulars.
I am an amateur, never in competition, but have great pleasure to ride, and to have best components on bike.
I need your advice , and even stories about your experience riding this wheels.
I want to heard not only good things about, but bad more , if there are.

Thank you

I extend the investigation, and ask your advice for one of those wheels that I intend to buy:

1.Easton Tempest II Carbon Wheelset
2.Fulcrum Racing Speed Wheelset Tubular Tire
3.ZIPP 404
4.CAMPAGNOLO BORA

Thanks

ciotic said:
I am an amateur, never in competition, but have great pleasure to ride, and to have best components on bike.

Thank you
Define "best". What is your criteria?

Ok, You are right. What is ''best'' for me, maybe is not for others. For my opinion , based on my experience of riding , I appreciate the following qualities:

1.lightweight , without compromise mechanicals
2.aerodinamics
3.mileage without adjustments or repairs
4.Design
5.Reliable
6.Easy maintenance
I have 80 kg and the roads are in bad condition (about 50%)

Thanks

ciotic said:

Thank you
I can't give you specifics about either wheelset, but:
  • you need to pre-stretch your tubulars before gluing them (including the spare!) ... you will probably think that your new tubulars were intended for a 650c sized rim when you first try to mount them!
  • a spare set of wheels goes a long way toward that end (700c clinchers will barely-work toward that end but a spare set of old tubular wheels is definitely better for pre-stretching sew-ups)
  • you need to have at least TWO extra (three is better, the third is the spare you carry with you) tires than the ones that are mounted because you will want your pre-stretched tires good-to-go when the time comes.