Advice on which Touring Bike please!

mamalovesmambo

May 24, 2005
Hi,
I'm a total touring newbie, but I'm off to Italy for a month this summer and want to get a new bike for the trip.
I want the bike to be as light as possible with a good "granny gear" as I need all the help I can get uphill! The bike also needs to be as reliable as possible, so I don't want new fangled bits that'll be hard to fix or replace on route. I've heard that Trek are good for road bikes, are they also good for Touring bikes?
Would you get a women's bike? What are the advantages/disadvantages?
I've been told that smaller wheels will make uphills easier?
Is this true and are there any downsides to smaller wheels?
What about disc-breaks?
Or front suspension?
Any help and advice greatly appreciated!

mamalovesmambo said:
Hi,
I'm a total touring newbie, but I'm off to Italy for a month this summer and want to get a new bike for the trip.
I want the bike to be as light as possible with a good "granny gear" as I need all the help I can get uphill! The bike also needs to be as reliable as possible, so I don't want new fangled bits that'll be hard to fix or replace on route. I've heard that Trek are good for road bikes, are they also good for Touring bikes?
What about disc-breaks?
Or front suspension?

How much weight will you be carrying?
How many miles per day are you planning?
What is the topography of your route?

Hi,

>How much weight will you be carrying?
Will be packing as minimally as possible, but will have camping and cooking equipment. Distributed in front and rear panniers. Haven't weighed it all yet.

>How many miles per day are you planning?
30-40 a day.

>What is the topography of your route?
We will be in Tuscany, where there are lots of rolling hills.

The most important criteria is fit. If it's lightweight, good gears, and reliable -- but doesn't fit right, then it's a bad choice.