Advice please...

Discussion in 'Bike buying advice' started by archermd, May 1, 2007.

1. archermd

archermd New Member

My 1st post here. The site seems so much like BikeForums, but I will post this here and see what happens: I am new to biking. Overweight, but going to the gym (mostly treadmill and some light free weights) and already down 20 lbs. Now I want to try biking. Maybe it will be better for my old sore lower back (45 yrs old but my weight and lack of recent exercise and multiple bad discs have caused some discomfort), bad knees, and sore hips. I am torn. Willing to spend $1000 - 2000. Road vs hybrid vs cyclecross is the issue, and carbon vs aluminum. I will be on the road mostly, but what if I hit a dirt road or... gravel. Then the skinny road tires will be a poblem. And skinny tires are not as stable or foregiving for a newbie like me, or am I wrong here? The road bike with dropped/curved handlebars will offer more hand position options, but will this be a good bike in the long run. I can hear y'all now: no one bike can do it all. My current shopping has me looking at the following bikes: Trek 7.5FX Livestrong, Trek XO1 or XO2, Trek Pilot (which one?), Specialized Sirrus, Specialized Sequoia Elite, Specialized Tricross with triple front gear, Specialize Roubaix with triple front gear. My local bike shop obviously is big on these 2 companies, and frankly at this price point and higher they are carrying more Specialized bikes than Trek. So, please sned some advice. I want to get out there and ride.

Tags:

2. geo8rge

geo8rge New Member

Folding bikes are very practical interms of storage and transportation. Xooter.com Swoft, Dahon Mu Xl, and Bike Friday are what I would recommend you look at. I think you will ride a folding bike much more than a regular bike.

The stock tires the bikes come with probably will suit you. You can buy an additional wheelset with thicker tires at some point in the future.

3. archermd

archermd New Member