Aerobars on a hybrid?

Owboduz

Jun 25, 2013
[COLOR= rgb(64, 64, 64)]I'm training for the London to Cambridge bicycle ride. It's about 60 miles.[/COLOR] [COLOR= rgb(64, 64, 64)]I have a Trek FX 7.0, which is a hybrid with riser bars:[/COLOR]
[COLOR= rgb(64, 64, 64)] [/COLOR]

http://www.trekbikes.com/int/en/bikes/town/fitness/fx/7_0_fx/

I'm mostly happy with my FX 7.0, but w[COLOR= rgb(64, 64, 64)]hile I've been training, I have found that I have a lot of wind resistance. That's fine, for training but for a 60 mile ride, I'd rather cut down the resistance. I also have to lean on the bars in pretty much the same position constantly. Hybrids don't leave a lot of room to shift around.[/COLOR] [COLOR= rgb(64, 64, 64)]I've been wondering about using aerobars. I've never used them before, so I don't really know what to look for in a set. I've found a few sets that aren't very expensive, but I just have no way to know what to avoid.[/COLOR] [COLOR= rgb(64, 64, 64)]So, would you suggest aerobars? Dropbar ends? Something else?[/COLOR] [COLOR= rgb(64, 64, 64)]Should I look for a two-piece aerobars? Or a single-piece aerobar?[/COLOR]

[COLOR= rgb(64, 64, 64)]Are there any down-sides to adding some clip-on aerobars? I know it will be harder to shift and brake when leaning on the aerobars. Would it make sense to move the rear brake lever onto one aerobar? Is there anything else I should consider?[/COLOR]

Well there's nothing stopping you from slapping some clip on aero bars onto your Trek. It's hard to say how much it will lower your front end and improve your aerodynamics but many people do use them more as 'comfort bars' rather than 'aero bars' when set up in fairly upright positions. Nothing wrong with that.